Ashes 2019: All you need to know

Cricket's oldest rivalry resumes when England host Australia for the first of five Tests, beginning at Edgbaston on August 1. The remaining Tests are at Lord's (Aug 14-18), Headingley (Aug 22-26), Old Trafford (Sept 4-8), The Oval (Sept 12-16).

This series marks the launch of the World Test Championship, a points-based format where the top two sides, after a two-year cycle, will play a final in June 2021.


The Ashes urn currently sits with Australia, who beat England 4-1 in their previous meeting in 2017-18. The two captains are Joe Root for England and Tim Paine. Paine retains the captaincy, after it was unexpectedly handed to him when regular captain Steve Smith, along with David Warner and Cameron Bancroft were banned for their role in the ball-tampering controversy in South Africa in 2018.


The last time Australia won an Ashes series in England was in 2001.

Printable version | Apr 12, 2021 6:59:41 AM |

Next Story