Qatar World Cup 2022Full list of quarterfinal results, matches, scores, goalscorers

Neeraj Chopra clinches javelin gold

June 02, 2017 08:44 pm | Updated 10:42 pm IST - PATIALA

Dramatic turn: Archana Adhav cruises to the finish line in the 800m as a heat-affected Tintu Luka, right, collapses to the ground.

Dramatic turn: Archana Adhav cruises to the finish line in the 800m as a heat-affected Tintu Luka, right, collapses to the ground.

World junior record-holder Neeraj Chopra clinched the men’s javelin gold with a throw of 85.63 metres on the second day of the 21st Federation Cup athletics championship at the Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports Complex on Friday.

“I am happy to maintain a good standard and look forward to winning medals in the Asian championship and World championship,” said Neeraj who recently joined the Rajputana Rifles.

He set the tone for the evening with the first throw of 85.63 and followed that with 82.11, 81.71, 82.74 and 83.91, with one no mark on the third throw.

It inspired the rest and Davinder Singh Kang, who also qualified for the World championship, threw 83.82 with his fourth throw for the silver.

Of course, the two had set the bar high and the third could not catch up with them as Abhishek Singh won the bronze with a throw of 77.00 metres.

Tintu collapses

There was a dramatic twist to the women’s 800 metres, as Tintu Luka affected by the heat collapsed on the track just before the end of the first lap and had to be helped out. In fact three athletes did not finish. Archana Adhav of Maharashtra pipped Lili Das of West Bengal for the gold. G.K. Vijayakumari, who beat Tintu in the heats on Thursday, had to settle for the bronze.

In men’s 800 metres, Amoj Jacob of Delhi sprang a surprise by beating Jinson Johnson, while Sajeesh Joseph finished eighth.

In men’s shot put, Tajinder Pal Singh Toor won the gold with a throw of 20.40 metres, ahead of Jasdeep Singh Dhillon and Omprakash Singh Karhana.

In women’s 200 metres, Srabani Nanda, who has been on a long training stint abroad, clocked 23.57 seconds to beat Dutee Chand by 0.03 second.

It was Odisha again in men’s 200 metres, as Amiya Kumar Mallick won the gold ahead of Sanjeet and Vamsi Praveen. Nayana James was impressive in women’s long jump for Andhra Pradesh as she won the gold with a jump of 6.55 metres. Her three other legal jumps were 6.20, 6.43, and 6.47.

In the morning, Karamjit Kaur, sister of Asian Games silver medallist Khushbir Kaur, won the women’s 20 kilometre walk with a time of 1 hour 40 minute 01.68 seconds.

The results: Men: 200m: 1. Amiya Kumar Mallick 21.22; 2. Sanjeet 21.43; 3. Vamsi Praveen 21.78. 800m: 1. Amoj Jacob 1:50.54; 2. Jinson Johnson 1:50.83; 3. Vishwambhar Kolekar 1:50.92. Long jump: 1. Ankit Sharma 7.80; 2. S.E. Samsheer 7.67; 3. Siddharth Mohan Naik 7.66. Javelin: 1. Neeraj Chopra 85.63 (NMR, old 79.65, Davinder Singh, Bengaluru, 2015); 2. Davinder Singh Kang 83.82; 3. Abhishek Singh 77.00. Shot put: 1. Tajinder Pal Singh Toor 20.40; 2. Jasdeep Singh Dhillon 19.46; 2. Omprakash Singh Karhana 19.30. Decathlon: 1. Jagtar Singh 6267; 2. Abhishek Shetty 6194; 3. Amolak Singh 6108.

Women: 200m: 1. Srabani Nanda 23.57; 2. Dutee Chand 23.60; 3. H.M. Jyothi 24.37. 800m: 1. Archana Adhav 2:05.66; 2. Lili Das 2:05.93; 3. G.K. Vijayakumari 2:07.37. Long jump: 1. Nayana James 6.55; 2. V. Neena 6.30; 3. G. Karthika 6.05. 20 km walk: 1. Karamjit Kaur 1:40.01.68; 2. B. Soumya 1:41:03.16; 3. Rani Yadav 1:42:22.32 .

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.