Inter-State athletics | Tejas wins men’s hurdles with a new meet record

Published - July 01, 2024 12:04 am IST - panchkula

Golden moment: Tejas, right, was too good for the competition.

Golden moment: Tejas, right, was too good for the competition. | Photo Credit: Ritu Raj Konwar

Tejas Shirse was clearly not happy, despite winning the 110m hurdles on the final day of the 63rd Inter-State athletics championships here on Sunday with a new meet record of 13.54 seconds. The 22-year old had been aiming for the Olympic standard but it was too much to ask for from someone who got serious about the sport less than a year ago.

“Seven months back, I was not even thinking about the Olympics. It all started at the last inter-state, where I could not qualify for the Asian Games. But then I saw the race in Hangzhou and thought, ‘I could have been there’. It triggered a lot of things.

“That’s when I made a roadmap for getting to the Olympics, the first step being the national record, which happened recently.

“The next was the qualifying mark, which didn’t happen but that doesn’t mean I will give up,” a determined Shirse said.

Also proving himself ready for bigger challenges was Sahil Silwal, taking the top spot in javelin throw. Silwal, who had been among the most promising throwers a few years ago, pushed himself hard to manage 81.81m in his final throw for a new personal best.

The most anticipated event at the meet saw a new national record by the national 4x400m mixed relay team but fell short of qualifying for Paris here on Sunday.

The quartet of Mohd. Anas, Mohd. Ajmal, Jothika Sri Dandi and surprisingly Kiran Pahal clocked 3:12.82 to better the previous national record by almost two seconds.

It was, however, interesting to see Kiran — who booked an individual quota earlier — despite the AFI’s vehement claims of not considering non-campers for relay events. It remains to be seen whether it was a one-off or the AFI considers her for the national camp and the women’s relay team.

The results (finals):

Men: 200m: 1. Animesh Kujur (Odi, 20.65s), 2. Nalubothu Srinivas (AP, 20.95s), 3. Ragul Kumar (TN, 21.15s); 800m: 1. Shyam Milan Bind (MP, 1:47.24), 2. Rijoy J (Ker, 1:48.58), 3. Ankesh Chaudhary (HP, 1:50.01); 10,000m: 1. Kartik Kumar (UP, 29:50.11), 2. Gulveer Singh (UP, 29:50.38), 3. Vansh (Har, 30:43.74); 110m Hurdles: 1. Tejas Shirse (Mah, 13.54s), 2. Manav (TN, 13.85s), 3. Madhvendra Shekhawat (Raj, 13.85s); 400H: 1. Nikhil Bhardwaj (Pun, 50.21s), 2. Murad Sirman (Guj, 50.60s), 3. Dhaval Utekar (Guj, 50.87s);

Triple jump: 1. Abdulla Aboobacker (Ker, 17.00m), 2. Praveen Chitravel (TN, 16.98m), 3. Gailey Venister (TN, 16.40m); javelin: 1. Sahil Silwal (Har, 81.81m), 2. Vikrant Malik (Odi, 81.74m), 3. Kishore Jena (Odi, 80.84m).

Women: 200m: 1. Srabani Nanda (Odi, 23.89s), 2. Madhumita Deb (MP, 23.93s), 3. Nancy (Har, 23.95s); 800m: 1. Chanda (Del, 2:01.53), 2. Amandeep Kaur (Pun, 2:04.73), 3. Gug Kaur (Pun, 2:05.60); 10,000m: 1. Sanjivani Jadhav (Mah, 33:42.54), 2. Seema (HP, 34:05.69), 3. Ankita (Har, 36:34.97).

100m Hurdles: 1. Jyothi Yarraji (AP, 13.06s), 2. Pragyan Sahu (Odi, 13.15s), 3. Nithya Ramraj (TN, 13.21s); 400H: 1. Olimba Steffi (TN, 59.43s), 2. Ramandeep Kaur (Pun, 59.81s), 3. Deekshita Ramak Gowda (Kar, 59.84s).

High jump: 1. Khyati Mathur (UP, 1.86m), 2. Pooja (Har, 1.79m), 3. Manshi (UP, 1.76m); long jump: 1. Ancy Sojan E (Ker, 6.59m), 2. Shaili Singh (UP, 6.59m), Nayana James (Ker, 6.42m); 4x400 mixed relay: 1. India A (3:12:87), 2. India B (3:14:22), 3. Sri Lanka (3:18.18).

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.