Indians disappoint


China’s Liang Rui powered to a 4:04:36 victory in the women’s 50km race at the 2018 IAAF World race walking team championships here on Saturday, breaking the World record in what was just her first race over the distance.

The 23-year-old improved on the previous record of 4:05:56, set by Ines Henriques of Portugal at last year’s World Championships in London, by one minute and 20 seconds to take the gold.

Meanwhile, the Indian men and women were a lot slower than their season bests on Saturday.

National record holder Sandeep Kumar was nearly three minutes slower than his season best while finishing 27th. Jitendra was 29th in the men’s 50km event.

The scene was almost similar in the women’s 20km where National record holder B. Soumya finished 37th while Asiad silver medallist Khushbir Kaur was 44th.

India finished 11th in the women’s section while it had just two walkers in the men’s 50km and hence ineligible for team points.

The men’s 20km, which will feature three Indians, will be held on Sunday.

The results (gold medallists and Indians only): Men: 50km walk: 1. Hirooki Arai (Jpn) 3:44.25s, 27. Sandeep Kumar 3:59.28, 29. Jitendra Singh 4:00.13.

Women: 20km walk: 1. Maria Gonzalez (Mex) 1:26.38s, 37. B. Soumya 1:33.54, 44. Khushbir Kaur 1:34.59, 55. Ravina 1:35.47, 74. Shanti Kumari 1:42.38. Team championship: India 11th.

50km walk: 1. Liang Rui (Chn) 4:04:36.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 2, 2021 8:27:04 AM |

Next Story