Davinder back to winning ways

Good enough: Davinder Singh Kang was nowhere near his best, but still won the men’s title.

Good enough: Davinder Singh Kang was nowhere near his best, but still won the men’s title.   | Photo Credit: Spl


Davinder Singh Kang, who was allowed to return to competition last month after the National Dope Testing Laboratory withdrew the positive report charge, was not anywhere close to his best but still won the men’s title in the National Javelin Throw Open at the SAI Regional Centre here on Monday.

The 30-year-old from Punjab, the lone India to make the World Championships final in 2017, won the gold with 74.28m. His personal best, 84.57m, came two years ago in Patiala.

However Davinder, who finished fifth in the Federation Cup in Patiala last month with 79.31m, said he was happy just to be competing.

Meanwhile Rohit Yadav, who broke the under-18 National record with a preliminary round throw of 81.75m on Sunday, won the gold in his age group with 81.73m.

Panchal is fastest

At the National 400m Open in Lucknow, Haryana’s Vikrant Panchal emerged as the fastest quartermiler as he won the under-20 gold in 47.88s.

Gujarat’s Vishal Chaturbhai, the men’s winner, clocked 48.88s.

Delhi’s Simran Kaur won the women’s gold in 58.62s but all the junior medallists, led by Jharkhand’s Florence Barla (56.27s), were faster.

The results:

National Javelin Throw Open (Sonipat): Men: 1. Davinder Singh Kang (Pun) 74.28m; 2. Vipin Panwar (Del) 70.83; 3. Amit Dahiya (Har) 68.21.

U-20 (800gm): 1. Rishabh Nehra (UP) 71.84m; 2. Aashish Chaudhary (UP) 71.39; 3. Vijay Lakra (Jha) 69.71.

U-18 (700gm): 1. Rohit Yadav (UP) 81.73m; 2. Nandkishor Singh (UP) 73.01; 3. Yashvir Singh (Har) 71.54.

U-16 (700gm): 1. Lucky Negi (Del) 67.61m; 2. Jay Kumar (UP) 67.36; 3. Sanoj Yadav (UP) 59.99.

National 400m Open (Lucknow): Men: 1. Vishal Chaturbhai (Guj) 48.88s; 2. Pankaj Malik (Har) 49.09; 3. M. Ramachandran (TN) 49.27.

U-20: 1. Vikrant Panchal (Har) 47.88s; 2. N.R. Agnish (Kar) 49.35; 3. Adesh Garsa (Raj) 49.38.

U-18: 1. Shivang Mishra (UP) 49.31s; 2. Ravinder Paswan (UP) 50.00; 3. Balram (Mah) 50.23.

U-16: 1. Mohit (UP) 51.40s; 2. Devram Rathwa (Guj) 51.76; 3. Kuldeep Kumar (UP) 52.35.

Women: 1. Simran Kaur (Del) 58.62s; 2. Vidhi Daga (Raj) 59.66; 3. Neetu Prajapati (MP) 1:08.77.

U-20: 1. Florence Barla (Jha) 56.27s; 2. Nanhi Chaudhary (Har) 56.72; 3. Bhuvi Cholaramane (Kar) 58.47.

Girls, u-18: 1. Damini (Cht) 1:00.73s; 2. Nidhi (Cht) 1:05.97; 3. Yukta Ghosalkar (MP) 1:07.71.

U-16: 1. Netra (Har) 1:00.98; 2. Atreyee Sarkar (WB) 1:01.56; 3. Amudha Yalini (Kar) 1:03.47.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Athletics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 28, 2020 5:45:25 AM |

Next Story