Ayyasamy makes the cut for Asian meet

Fluid motion: Dutee Chand clocked the exact qualifying timing set by the AFI for the 200m.

Fluid motion: Dutee Chand clocked the exact qualifying timing set by the AFI for the 200m.  

Ditto for Dutee in the 200m event

Dharun Ayyasamy made it two-in-two, winning the 400m hurdles in the second leg of the Indian Grand Prix here on Wednesday and also securing qualification for the Asian Championships in the process.

Ayyasamy clocked 49.94s — the qualifying time was 50s — to finish ahead of Tamil Nadu statemates Santhosh Kumar and M. Ramachandran, improving on his 50.05 performance in Patiala four days back.

Also achieving the mark was Dutee Chand in the 200m, clocking exactly 23.30s, the qualifying timing set by the AFI.

Ajay Kumar won the 1500m, finishing in 3:46.10 — falling short of the qualifying mark by one-tenth of a second. Interestingly, Ajay’s name was not in the initial starting list for the event. Also winning was Delhi’s Nisar Ahmed, in the 200m, his first outing since being disqualified in the age-fiasco at the National Youth Athletics meet in Raipur recently. Nisar is also a winner of the Khelo India School Games.

The AFI, while claiming that he was clear to participate in senior events, has also admitted it would be meeting to decide on the quantum of punishment for those found guilty even though the National Sports Code 2011 has clear provision for a two-year ban.

The results: Men: 200m: Nisar Ahmed (22.05s), Emmanuel Paul (22.37s), Abhinav Pawar (22.51s); 400m: Arokia Rajiv (46.49s), Jeevan KS (47.02s), Kunhu Mohammed (47.19s); 400m hurdles: Dharun Ayyasamy (49.94s), Santhosh Kumar (50.77s), Ramachandran M (50.83s); 1500m: Ajay Kumar (3:46.10), Rahul (3:48.15), Ankit (3:49.90); Triple Jump: Mohd. Salahuddin (15.80m), Jay Shah (15.44m), Praveen Chithravel (15.40m); Discus: Mithravarun S (52.62m), Arvind Rathee (48.98m), Surjeet Gurra (47.62m); Shot Put: Parveen (17.37m), Sahib Singh (16.53m), G. Venkatesh Naidu (13.20m); Javelin: Abhishek Singh (78.24m), Abhishek Drall (75.19m), Yashvir Singh (67.95m).

Women: 200m: Dutee Chand (23.30s), Anjali Devi (24.15s), Supriya Maddali (24.48s); 400m: M.R. Poovamma (54.12s), Saritaben Gayakwad (54.61s), Prachi (54.74s); 1500m: Chitra P.U. (4:20.76), Lili Das (4:20.89), Usha Sati (5:08.07); Triple Jump: Renu (12.76m), Sheena (12.45m), Sonam (12.34m); Shot Put: Kachnar Chaudhary (14.41m), Anamika Das (13.75m), Sonal Goyal (13.28m); Discus: Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (54.92m), Nidhi Rani (45.95m), Surgyan Choudhary (25.19m); Javelin: Sharmila Kumari (50.94m), Rupinder Kaur (48.62m).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 26, 2020 7:13:00 AM |

Next Story