Instagram down for thousands of users, says Downdetector

Nearly 24,000 users of Instagram were impacted by 5:00 p.m. ET (2:30 a.m. IST), according to outage-tracking website Downdetecto

July 15, 2022 02:59 am | Updated 10:29 am IST

Silhouettes of mobile users are seen next to a screen projection of Instagram logo.

Silhouettes of mobile users are seen next to a screen projection of Instagram logo. | Photo Credit: Reuters

Thousands of users of Meta Platforms Inc’s Instagram on Thursday reported issues with the photo-sharing application, according to Downdetector.com.

Nearly 24,000 users of Instagram were impacted by 5:00 p.m. ET (2:30 a.m. IST), according to outage-tracking website Downdetector, which collates status reports from a number of sources in the United States.

“We’re aware that some people are having trouble accessing Instagram. We’re working to get things back to normal and apologize for any inconvenience,” a Meta spokesperson said in an emailed statement.

Earlier on Thursday, Twitter Inc had a near three-hour outage that affected as many as 50,000 users at its peak at around 8:15 a.m. ET (5:45 p.m. IST), according to Downdetector.com.

Late last year, Meta had a nearly six-hour-long outage which kept WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger out of reach for billions of users.

Top News Today

Comments

Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.