Nobel Prize winners 2014

French economist Jean Tirole won the 2014 Nobel Prize for economics for his work that has shed light on how governments should regulate powerful companies that dominate markets, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on Monday.

Winners announcements

>Jean Tirole wins Economics Nobel

For his analysis of market power and regulation.

> India, Pak share Peace Prize

Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai

>Patrick Modiano wins Literature

The French novelist’s work focuses on Nazi occupation.

>2 Americans, 1 German win Chemistry Nobel

Awarded for developing new methods that let microscopes see finer details.

>2 Japanese, 1 American win Physics Nobel

Awarded for invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes.

>Three share Nobel for medicine

Awarded for discovering the brain’s positioning system.

List of 2013 Nobel Prize winners

For Medicine and Physiology: James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman, Thomas C. Südhof

The Nobel committee said their research on “vesicle traffic” the transport system of our cells helped scientists understand how “cargo is delivered to the right place at the right time” inside cells. >Read more

For Physics: François Englert, Peter W. Higgs

They were awarded the prize for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles. >Read more

For Chemistry: Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt, Arieh Warshel

The Nobel Prize was awarded to them for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems. >Listen here

For Literature: Alice Munro

Canadian writer Alice Munro, a thorough, but forgiving documenter of the human spirit, won the Nobel Prize in literature for being a “master of the contemporary short story." >Read more

For Peace: The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) was awareded the peace prize “for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons”. >Read more

For Economics: The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2013 was awarded to them " for their empirical analysis of asset prices." >Read more

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 12, 2021 10:22:43 AM |

Next Story