ISRO to launch 20 satellites tomorrow

Updated - October 18, 2016 01:10 pm IST

Published - June 21, 2016 12:16 am IST - CHENNAI:

Gearing up for the mission to launch 20 satellites in a single rocket, the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on Monday commenced the 48-hour countdown for the launch of PSLV C-34 rocket. It will lift off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota at 9.25 a.m. on June 22.

Apart from a Cartosat-2 series satellite, the rocket will also launch LAPAN-A3 (Indonesia), BIROS (Germany), M3MSat (Canada), SkySat Gen2-1 (U.S.), GHGSat-D (Canada), 12 Dove Satellites (U.S.), Sathyabamasat (Sathyabama University, Chennai) and Swayam satellites (College of Engineering, Pune). The 725.5-kg Cartosat-2 series satellite will enhance Earth observation.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.