Rajini, Kamal win best actor awards

Two top stars of Tamil cinema – Rajinikant and Kamal Haasan – won the best actor awards as the State government announced its Film Awards for 2007 and 2008 on Monday.

While Rajinikant’s ‘Sivaji’ won him the best actor award and also bagged the best film award for 2007, Kamal Haasan’s ‘Dasavatharam’ got him the best actor award for 2008 and was adjudged the best film for the same year.

Jyothika won the best actress award for her role in ‘Mozhi,’ which also won the second best film award for 2007. The award for the third best film for that year was given to ‘Pallikoodam’ and Thankar Bachchan, who directed the film, was adjudged the best director. In 2007, the special prize went to ‘Periyar.’

Special awards

Special awards were also given to male and female actors for each year. For 2007, the special prize went to Sathyaraj for his role as Periyar and Priyamvatha for her role in ‘Mirugam.’

For 2008, the awards went to Suriya (for ‘Varanam Aayiram’) and Trisha (‘Abhiyum Naanum’).

‘Sivaji’ bagged four other awards for 2007, including best villain – Suman, best comedian – Vivek, best female playback singer – Chinmayee, and best art director – Thotta Tharani. Vidyasagar was named the best music director for Mozhi.

Another award went to the film as M.S.Bhaskar took the best character artiste (male) prize.

The best character artiste (female) went to Archana for ‘Onbathu Rubai Notu.’ Srinivas won the best male playback singer award for the same film.

S.M. Vasanth was awarded the best story writer award for the thriller ‘Satham Podathe,’ and Balaji Sakthivelu, the best dialogue writer award for ‘Kaloori.’

Vairamuthu once again won the best lyricist award, this time for ‘Periyar’ and other films, and the best cinematographer award went to Nirav Shah for his work in ‘Billa.’

‘Dasavatharam’ picked up two more awards in the 2008 list, with Vaali getting the best lyricist award and Michael Westmore and Kothandapani jointly taking the best make-up artist award.

Best actress award

That year’s best actress award went to Sneha for ‘Pirivom Santhipom.’ The second best film award went to ‘Abhiyum Naanum’ and its director Radha Mohan took the best director award.

The third prize for the best film went to the entertainer ‘Santhosh Subramaniam,’ and the special award to ‘Meiporul.’

Award for Karunanidhi

2008’s best dialogue writer award was given to Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi for his work on ‘Uliyin Osai,’ while the best story award went to Tamilselvan for the film ‘Poo.’

The best villain award was given to Rajendran (‘Naan Kadavul’); Vadivelu’s role in ‘Kathavarayan’ won the award for best comedian (male), and Kovai Sarala, best female comedian for her role in ‘Uliyin Osai.’

The best character artiste awards went to Prakash Raj and Pooja (‘Naan Kadavul’) for 2008. ‘Naan Kadavul’ also got Arthur A.Wilson the best cinematographer award. Ilayaraja won the best music director award for ‘Ajantha.’ The best female playback award for 2008 went to Mahathi (‘Nenjathai Killathe’) and the best male playback award to Pelliraja (‘Subramaniapuram’).

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 2, 2021 6:15:57 PM |

Next Story