BJP declares 55 candidates for Haryana assembly polls

New Delhi The BJP on Saturday inducted three former INLD leaders into the party-fold and also gave them ticket to contest while announcing the names of 55 candidates for the coming elections to the 90-member Haryana assembly.

The BJP list of candidates include three women, 12 Schedule Caste and four former ministers.

The party’s Haryana unit chief Krishna Pal Gujjar will contest from Tigaon constituency, while INLD general secretary Santosh Yadav, who joined the BJP on Saturday, will contest from Attali in Mahendragarh district. She has contested from this seat twice in the past.

The INLD Zila Parishad member Mewa Singh and INLD district chief of Sonepat Azad Singh Nehra, who also joined the BJP on Saturday, will contest from Ladwa and Ganaur seats, respectively.

Mr. Anju Chhinker, a former INLD member, will contest from Samalkha on a BJP ticket.

The party on Saturday dismissed all reports of possibilities of a tie-up with Bhajan Lal, who met senior leader L K Advani last week. “The meeting must have been a courtesy call. The BJP will contest all the 90 seats on its own,” party in—charge of Haryana Vijay Goel said.

After a break-up with Om Prakash Chautala-led INLD, BJP had tried to set-up an alliance with Bhajan Lal’s HJC, but the talks failed.

BJP will release its manifesto on September 26 and also bring out a white paper on Congress-led Bhupinder Singh Hooda government’s “failures” in the last five years.

“Our slogan is ‘Sarkar Badlo, Haalaat Badlo’ The Hooda government failed to keep its promises made to the people five years ago,” Mr. Goel said.

Poor power supply, lack of water and rising prices are some of the issues on which BJP will take on the Congress government.

“64 MoUs were signed for setting up Special Economic Zones but no factory has come up though land was taken away from the farmers,” he said.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 15, 2021 5:50:52 PM |

Next Story