Vijay Kelkar new NIPFP chairperson

November 03, 2014 05:50 pm | Updated 05:50 pm IST - New Delhi

Thirteenth Finance Commission Chairman Vijay Laxman Kelkar has been appointed as Chairperson of the Finance Ministry’s think-tank National Institute of Public Finance & Policy (NIPFP). He replaces former Reserve Bank governor C. Rangarajan.

Dr. Kelkar’s four-year term commenced on Saturday, according to an NIPFP release.

Prior to the Chairman of the Thirteenth Finance Commission, he was Advisor to the Union Finance Minister from 2002 to 2004. He was also the Union Finance Secretary in 1998-1999.

NIPFP records its deep sense of appreciation and gratitude for the significant contributions made by the revered outgoing Chairman, Dr. Rangarajan during his long stint (1998-2014), which have immensely helped the Institute towards scaling to its present level of growth and effectiveness, the release said.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.