President Ram Nath Kovind lays wreath at Dagger War Memorial on Kargil Vijay Divas

President Ram Nath Kovind receives a guard of honour on his arrival in Srinagar.   | Photo Credit: PTI

President Ram Nath Kovind, who could not fly to Kargil due to inclement weather, on Monday laid a wreath at the Dagger War Memorial, Baramulla, to pay tributes to all the soldiers who sacrificed their lives in defending the nation.

President Kovind, accompanied by senior Army officers, reached Baramulla from Srinagar after his chopper could not take off due to bad weather and difficult flying conditions around Zojila Pass in central Kashmir, officials said.

He was scheduled to pay homage at the Kargil War Memorial in Drass on the 22nd Anniversary of Kargil Vijay Diwas. The President will also address the 19th annual convocation of the University of Kashmir on Tuesday.

The President, who was accompanied by J&K Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha, was received by Major General Virendra Vats, General Officer Commanding, Baramulla Division, and was briefed about the town’s history, highlighting the contribution of the town in various operations post-independence.

The President interacted with the soldiers of Baramulla Division and wished them luck for all future endeavours, an official said.

The President also visited the High Altitude Warfare School in Gulmarg. He was briefed on the various facets of training being carried out at the school, the official said.

L-G at Kargil

A solemn ceremony was held in Drass at the Kargil War Memorial. Ladakh’s Lieutenant Governor R.K. Mathur laid a wreath and paid his tributes to the fallen soldiers “symbolising ‘Shradhanjali’ from the entire nation to the bravehearts”, an Army spokesman said.

This year’s Kargil Vijay Diwas celebrations were unique in two ways as the day coincided with the ‘Swarnim Vijay Varsh Victory Flame’ reaching the Kargil War Memorial.

“The journey of the victory flame across the country commemorates 50 years of triumph in the 1971 Indo-Pak war,” the Army spokesman said.

The ‘Victory Flame’ was received by Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat.

The ceremony was also attended by Lt. Gen. Y.K. Joshi, GOC-in-C Northern Command; Lt. Gen. P.G.K. Menon, GOC 14 Corps; Lt. Gen. D.P. Pandey, GOC 15 Corps and Lt. Gen. M.V. Suchindra Kumar, GOC 16 Corps.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 28, 2021 12:49:34 PM |

Next Story