Vaccination must for visitors from polio-hit nations

From March 1, polio vaccination will be mandatory for all international travellers coming to India from polio-infected countries.

The Health Ministry has also made OPV (oral polio vaccine) compulsory for those travelling from India to polio-endemic countries and countries with poliovirus circulation to prevent virus importation.

The polio-endemic countries are Afghanistan, Nigeria and Pakistan. Countries with poliovirus circulation are Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia and Syria.

OPV vaccination certificates, valid for one year, will be issued by the government.

Resident nationals of the seven infected countries are required to receive an OPV dose, regardless of age and vaccination status, at least four weeks prior to departure for India. The vaccination certificate will have to be produced while applying for visa and during travel in India.

However, OPV is not mandatory for foreign nationals residing in the seven infected countries or India before their travel.

Travellers can contact local health authorities in their countries for vaccination and certificates.

Travellers from India to countries with poliovirus transmission should receive a dose of OPV at least four weeks prior to departure.

Each district has designated at least one centre where OPV vaccination will be given and certificate issued. The District Immunisation Officer is the designated official for issue of certificates.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 30, 2022 11:07:17 pm |