Three new Supreme Court judges sworn in

A view of the Supreme Court of India building. With the swearing-in of three more judges on Tuesday, the total strength of judges at the apex court has risen to 29 from the present 26. Photo: V. Sudershan   | Photo Credit: V_Sudershan

Three new judges — Chief Justice of the Gujarat High Court S.J. Mukhopadhaya, Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court J.S. Khehar and Justice Ranjana Desai of the Bombay High Court — were on Tuesday sworn in as Judges of the Supreme Court.

Chief Justice of India S.H. Kapadia administered the oath of office at a brief function held in his court hall to the three judges. With the swearing-in of Justice Desai, the number of woman judges in the Supreme Court has gone up to two and the total strength to 29.

Of the 29 (the sanctioned strength is 31), Justice Gyan Sudha Misra is the other woman judge. Justices Mukundakam Sharma and Markandey Katju are retiring this month and Justices J.M. Panchal and R.V. Raveendran are retiring in October.

Justice Mukhopadhaya (61), who represents Jharkhand, will have a tenure of about four years. Justice Khehar (59), who represents Punjab (as a replacement for Justice Bedi who retired early this month) will have an opportunity to become the Chief Justice of India. In that case, he will be the first person from the Sikh community to adorn the highest judicial office in the country.

Justice Desai, who will be completing 62 years in October this year, will have a tenure of a little over three years. At present Punjab has a representation of two judges. However, there is no representation for Haryana, even as this State is demanding the setting up of a separate High Court after bifurcating the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 20, 2020 9:20:58 AM |

Next Story