Nominations of 19 candidates for Huzurabad byelection rejected

Published - October 11, 2021 10:09 pm IST - HYDERABAD

Nomination papers of 19 candidates of Huzurabad bypoll were rejected by the Returning Officer on Monday, on completion scrutiny of the papers.

With this, 42 candidates are in the fray for now with two days left for withdrawal of nominations. The 19 rejected candidates included those of AIMIM party, Indian Praja Congress, Indian Praja Bandhu party, Mana Telangana Rashtra Samithi party, All India BC, OBC party, New India party and Republic Party of India.

The remaining rejected candidates filed nominations as independents. Among the rejected were three candidates whose names were similar to BJP nominee Eatala Rajender. Their names were Eppalapelli Rajender, Esampally Rajender and Emmadi Rajender.

Of the remaining 42 candidates, Gellu Srinivas Yadav, Eatala Rajender and Balmoor Venkat Narsing Rao were from the recognised TRS, Bharatiya Janata and Congress parties. Seven others are from registered political parties and there are 32 are independent candidates.

Even from the independent candidates, it is said that some are likely to withdraw their nominations on the last day for which is Wednesday. A clear picture of who are in fray would emerge by Wednesday evening, the authorities said.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.