Dubbak by-election: BJP's Raghunandan Rao defeats Sujatha of TRS

Counting in progress for Dubbak bypolls in Telangana   | Photo Credit: Mohd Arif

BJP candidate M Raghunandan Rao has won with a majority of 1,079 votes against his nearest TRS candidate S. Sujatha in Dubbak by-election for which counting was held at Siddiept on Tuesday. Congress stood poor third.

Mr Raghunandan Rao had polled 63,352 votes followed by Ms. Sujatha 62,273 and Congress candidate Ch. Srinivas Reddy 22,196 votes. NOTA got 554 votes.

During 2018 general elections TRS candidate late S Ramalinga Reddy got 62,500 votes marjority.

The bypoll was held following the death of TRS MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy. The party fielded his wife Ms. Sujatha Reddy while Congress gave ticket to M. Srinivas Reddy, son of four-time MLA and former Minister Cheruku Muthyam Reddy.

Initially, observers thought the fight is mainly between TRS and Congress candidates. But BJP candidate Mr. Rao slowly emerged as a fierce competitor. He had earlier contested and lost twice from this constituency.

Mr. Rao maintained a lead over his TRS rival in all the first five rounds of counting albeit with a few hundred votes. In sixth and seven rounds, the TRS candidate secured lead over the BJP nominee though the latter had an overall lead.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 26, 2021 6:08:26 AM |

Next Story