Bhongir civic chief loses no-trust motion

TRS councillors initiate the voting after she rejoins the BJP

Bhongir Municipality Chairperson Survi Lavanya lost the no-trust motion initiated by her former colleagues from the Telangana Rashtra Samiti and others, here on Tuesday.

The motion attended by 21 Councillors, plus two ex-officio members Bhongir MLA Pyla Shekar Reddy and MLC Alimineti Krishna Reddy, voted in favour of the no-trust.

Nine absent

Nine other members of the council remained absent, presiding officer M. Bhupal Reddy said.

Ms. Lavanya, who won on the Bharatiya Janata Party ticket in 2014, had defected to the TRS a year later, but rejoined her parent party during the Jana Chaitanya Yatra last month.

Following Ms. Lavanya’s decision, a majority 24 of the total 30 councillors — 15 TRS, 4 Congress, others from the BJP, TDP and CPI (M) — had submitted a petition to the District Collector Anita Ramachandran on July 4, to initiate the no-trust motion.

Tight security measures

The district administration in strict arrangements on the day of the voting, had earlier declared Section 144, in and around the premises of the venue.

Media, both, print and electronic, were not allowed to record the motion.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 6, 2020 6:10:58 PM |

Next Story