Lok Sabha elections 2014 Tamil Nadu

Udayakumar on AAP 7th list

File picture shows People’s Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE) coordinator, S.P. Udayakumar, signing papers after joining the Aam Aadmi Party in Idinthakarai, Tirunelveli district ,Tamil Nadu  

Anti-nuclear campaigner from Tamil Nadu S.P. Udayakumar is among the 26 candidates declared by the Aam Aadmi Party in its seventh list for the Lok Sabha elections on Tuesday. He will contest from Kanyakumari.

M.P. Jasuraj and M. Pushparayan, other activists who protested against the Kudankulam nuclear power project, have been fielded in Tirunelveli and Thoothukkudi. The other contestants from Tamil Nadu are K.K. Kumarasamy (Erode), Satheesh Kumar (Salem), J. Prabhakar (Chennai Central) and R. Chakravarthy Rajagopalakrishnan (Tiruppur).

The AAP has fielded Rengarajan V. from Puducherry, now represented by Union Minister V. Narayanasamy of the Congress. For the lone seat in Mizoram, the party's candidate will be retired IAS officer Lal Mazuala. With the seventh list, the AAP has declared 268 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections.

The candidature of party convener Arvind Kejriwal against the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi in Varanasi is likely to be announced during an AAP rally there on March 25.

Meanwhile, the party’s candidate from North-West Delhi, Mahendra Kumar, surrendered his ticket on Tuesday as he is allegedly involved in a fake currency racket.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 22, 2021 7:23:51 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/udayakumar-on-aap-7th-list/article5800034.ece

Next Story