AIADMK, the story so far

Tamil Nadu Speaker disqualifies 18 dissident AIADMK MLAs

Eighteen dissident AIADMK MLAs belonging to the T.T.V. Dhinakaran faction, who had withdrawn support to Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami, were on Monday disqualified from their posts by Assembly Speaker P. Dhanapal.

Announcing this, Assembly Secretary K. Boopathy said in an official release that since the Speaker has disqualified them under Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1986, the 18 AIADMK MLAs have lost their MLA posts.

Click here for the gazette notification.

Only last week senior lawyer Kapil Sibal, who appeared for the DMK, told the Madras High Court that he feared the Speaker could disqualify these legislators and conduct a floor test to facilitate Mr. Palaniswami to prove his majority in the Assembly.

With the disqualification of the 18 MLAs the collective strength of legislators in the 234-member House has come down to 215 (including the seat that fell vacant after the demise of Jayalalithaa). Mr Palaniswami now needs the support of just 108 MLAs, excluding that of the Speaker, to prove his majority and he can easily sail through a floor test.

The disqualified MLAs are:

Thanga Tamilselvan (Andipatti)

R. Murugan (Harur)

Cho. Mariappan Kennedy (Manamadurai)

Dr. K. Kathikamu (Periyakulam)

C. Jayanthi Padmanabhan (Gudiyattam)

P. Palaniappan (Pappireddipatti)

V. Senthil Balaji (Aravakurichi)

Dr. S. Muthiah (Paramakudi)

P. Vetrivel (Perambur)

N.G. Parthiban (Sholingar)

M. Kothandapani (Thiruporur)

T.A. Elumalai (Poonamallee)

M. Rengasamy (Thanjavur)

R. Thangadurai (Nilakottai)

R. Balasubramani (Ambur)

'Ethirkottai' S.G. Subramanian (Sattur)

R. Sundararaj (Ottapidaram)

K. Uma Maheshwari (Vilathikulam)

Though notices were issued by the Speaker initially to 19 AIADMK MLAs, who took sides with Mr. Dhinakaran on the recommendation of Chief Government Whip S. Rajendran, one of them S.T.K. Jakkaiyan (Cumbum) shifted his loyalties and to the Chief Minister.

Significantly the 18 dissident AIADMK MLAs have neither quit their party membership nor joined another political party.

Our code of editorial values

Correction and clarification: The article had earlier stated that Mr Palaniswami needs the support of 107 MLAs

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 24, 2021 1:20:52 PM |

In Depth
You are reading
Tamil Nadu Speaker disqualifies 18 dissident AIADMK MLAs
19 pro-Dhinakaran MLAs withdraw support to Palaniswami
AIADMK factions bury the hatchet
Former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa stepping out of her house in Poes Garden. File photo
T.N. to probe Jayalalithaa’s death
Betrayal has aligned with betrayal, says Dhinakaran
The Dhinakaran rebellion: Decoding the loyalty factor
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K. Palanisami and Deputy CM O. Paneerselvam visit former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa's memorial after announcing the merger of the two warring AIADMK factions.
AIADMK after Jayalalithaa: from a split to merger in six months
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K. Palanisami and Deputy CM O. Paneerselvam visit former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa's memorial after announcing the merger of the two warring AIADMK factions.
As it happened: AIADMK factions merge, OPS is Deputy CM
AIADMK merger: Panneerselvam is Deputy CM, gets finance portfolio
In final push for merger, Sasikala may be sidelined on Monday
Talks on merger move a step forward, says Panneerselvam
No link between TN Govt and AIADMK, says Dhinakaran
20 MLAs, six MPs attend Dhinakaran’s rally in Melur
Party organ republishes Sasikala’s plea for unity
AIADMK group to move away from Sasikala
Edapaddi camp questions Dhinakaran’s appointments
Dhinakaran announces new office-bearers, set to tour T.N.
Arukutty now in Edappadi camp
Panneerselvam disbands AIADMK merger panel
‘Edappadi should come clean on links with Sasikala family’
Dhinakaran camp continues to chip away at Edappadi camp
Money laundering case against Dhinakaran
T.T.V. Dhinakaran arrested for bid to bribe poll panel
Edappadi camp rejects OPS faction’s preconditions for merger
OPS camp talks tough, sets preconditions for merger
As AIADMK Amma decides to oust TTV Dhinakaran, 6 MLAs meet him
T.T.V. Dhinakaran during a poll campaign in Chennai
T.T.V. Dhinakaran charged with bid to bribe poll panel
EC cancels RK Nagar bypoll
RK Nagar nomination papers
Key candidates in R.K. Nagar by-election
Sasikala faction is 'AIADMK Amma' and OPS' 'AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma'
MPs belonging to the Sasikala faction leaving the Election Commission on Wednesday.
EC freezes 'two leaves' for R.K. Nagar bypoll
Deepa launches party
Edappadi Palaniswami wins floor test
Chief Minsiter Edappadi K. Palaniswami arriving at the Golden Bay Resorts in Koovathur.
After swearing-in, CM, most MLAs return to Koovathur resort
Edappadi Palaniswami sworn in as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister
MLAs at resort ‘shielded’ from media, visitors
Madhusudhanan asks EC to reject Sasikala’s election as party chief
AIADMK power struggle: Movers and shakers
130 AIADMK MLAs "free and safe in MLA hostel at Chepauk"
A stopgap Chief Minister who became unstoppable
AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala leaves after paying her tributes at the Jayalalithaa memorial, in Chennai on Thursday.
Sasikala stakes claim, all eyes on Governor
Panneerselvam dismisses Sasikala’s charge of DMK conspiracy
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam speaking to mediapersons on Wednesday.
Judicial inquiry will be ordered into Jayalalithaa's death: Panneerselvam
Tamil Nadu CM O. Panneerselvam at the Jayalalithaa memorial
OPS revolts, says he was forced to quit
Decks cleared for Sasikala as Governor accepts Pannerselvam’s resignation
AIADMK functionaries greet AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala at the party headquarters in Chennai on Sunday.
Sasikala set to become Tamil Nadu Chief Minister
Sasikala Pushpa writes to EC on Sasikala Natarajan’s appointment as AIADMK general secretary
A banner placed outside the AIADMK general council meeting venue mentioning V.K. Sasikala as the party's general secretary, on Thursday.
V.K. Sasikala appointed as AIADMK general secretary
Sasikala takes over as AIADMK general secretary
O. Panneerselvam sworn in as Chief Minister
Jayalalithaa is no more
Next Story