Tamil Nadu

ISRO chief, braveheart couple given awards

Edappadi K. Palaniswami presenting the Chief Minister's Special Award for Extraordinary Act of Bravery to P. Shanmugavelu and his wife Senthamarai .

Edappadi K. Palaniswami presenting the Chief Minister's Special Award for Extraordinary Act of Bravery to P. Shanmugavelu and his wife Senthamarai .   | Photo Credit: M_VEDHAN

‘Rocket man’ Sivan conferred the Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award

Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) K. Sivan, under whose leadership Chandrayaan-2 mission has been launched, was on Thursday awarded Tamil Nadu government’s Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award.

Since he could not be present at the Independence Day function, he is expected to collect the award from Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami at a later date.

A native of Kanniyakumari district, Mr. Sivan, the award citation said, is known popularly known as the “Rocket Man”.

Kalpana Chawla Award

Mr. Palaniswami handed over the State government’s Kalpana Chawla Award for Courage and Daring Enterprise to P. Ramyalakshmi, assistant director of fisheries (Marine) posted in Cuddalore. The award was in recognition of her brave action against the usage of destructive banned purse seine nets in the area.

The Chief Minister’s Special Award for Extraordinary Act of Bravery was given to senior citizen couple P. Shanmugavelu and his wife Senthamarai, both natives of Kadayam in Tirunelveli district, who on August 11 chased away armed robbers.

Under the Chief Minister’s Best Practices Award, Greater Chennai Police Commissionerate got the honour for installation of ‘Third Eye’ – the CCTV cameras and using Facetagr app for crime detection. The Department of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj got the award for Naganathi River Rejuvenation Project in Vellore district under MGNREGS.

Award for tax app

For developing a mobile app and establishing a 24x7 help desk to provide assistance for migration to GST system, the Department of Commercial Taxes got the award and Greater Chennai Corporation got a certificate of appreciation for infinity park at Santhome as a pilot project for creating sensory parks for differently abled children under Smart City Project.

Opportunity School for Intellectually Disabled in Vepery got the Award for Exemplary Service for the Welfare of the Differently-abled, Dr. S. Vetrivel Chezian of Government Coimbatore Medical College Hospital and Dr. V. Ramadevi of Government Kilpauk Medical College received Best Doctor Awards.

Everest Stabilizers Pvt. Ltd. got the Best Private Employer Award and Chandra Prasad of Pathway received the Best Social Worker Award. Salem District Central Cooperative Bank Ltd got the best cooperative bank award and M. Soosai Marian received the award for services rendered towards he welfare of women.

Under best institution for serving of women, Bothimaram in Salem district got the award. Salem was adjudged the Best Corporation while Dharmapuri, Vedaranyam and Aranthangi got the first three best municipalities respectively.

P. Naveenkumar of Namakkal district, M. Anandakumar of Dindigul district and R. Kalaivani of Madurai district won the Chief Minister’s State Youth Award.

The Chief Minister was received at the venue by Chief Secretary K. Shanmugam, who introduced officers of the armed forces and the State police to him.

Later, Mr. Palaniswami took the salute of the ceremonial guard of honour and later inspected the guard of honour.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 27, 2020 7:02:30 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/isro-chief-braveheart-couple-given-awards/article29103869.ece

Next Story