Erode (East) bypoll | AIADMK’s presidium chairman seeks opinion of general council members on candidate

Tamilmagan Hussain’s communication is accompanied by enclosures that include a draft text of affidavit to be signed by the members

Updated - February 06, 2023 02:45 pm IST

Published - February 04, 2023 09:13 pm IST - CHENNAI

Tamilmagan Hussain. File

Tamilmagan Hussain. File | Photo Credit: JOTHI RAMALINGAM B

The AIADMK’s presidium chairman Tamilmagan Hussain wrote to members of the general council asking them to convey their view on the candidature of K.S. Thennarasu for the Erode (East) byelection and send their response to him by 7 p.m. on Sunday (February 5). 

His communication is accompanied by enclosures that include a draft text of affidavit to be signed by the members.

This follows the Supreme Court’s interim order in the AIADMK case wherein the court directed the choice of the candidate for the bypoll to be put to the general council through a resolution which, in turn, might be adopted by circulation.

The proposed resolution, the text of which is in circulation among media persons, also gives members the option of rejecting the name of Mr. Thennarasu.

Another resolution calls upon the members to empower Mr. Hussian to append his signature on the forms “A” and “B” to be submitted along with the candidate’s nomination papers.

A cross section of leaders of the party said the communication was being sent through multiple ways. The conventional system of delivery through direct or personal messengers and online and social media, email and WhatsApp.

District secretaries have been asked to coordinate with members in their respective areas and get all the requisite documents dispatched to the party headquarters by Sunday evening.

The camp of the party’s interim general secretary Edappadi K. Palaniswami claimed that it enjoys the support of 2,539 members of the general council, three MPs, 61 MLAs, 755 secretaries of panchayat union-level units and 70 district secretaries.

It contended that the group led by the deposed coordinator O. Panneerselvam had the support of 136 members of the general council, two MPs, four MLAs, five district secretaries and 30 secretaries of panchayat union-level units.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.