Erode (East) bypoll | AIADMK candidate K.S. Thennarasu files nomination, AMMK withdraws

On February 6, the decks were cleared for Mr. Thennarasu, an ex-MLA to be the AIADMK’s official candidate; Tuesday was the last date for candidates to file their nomination papers for the February 27 bypoll

Updated - February 12, 2023 03:48 pm IST

Published - February 07, 2023 02:20 pm IST - ERODE

K.S. Thennarasu, AIADMK candidate for the Erode (East) Assembly constituency, filed his nomination paper with Returning Officer and Corporation Commissioner K. Sivakumar in Erode on February 7, 2023

K.S. Thennarasu, AIADMK candidate for the Erode (East) Assembly constituency, filed his nomination paper with Returning Officer and Corporation Commissioner K. Sivakumar in Erode on February 7, 2023 | Photo Credit: GOVARTHAN M

The AIADMK’s candidate for the upcoming byelection to the Erode (East) Assembly constituency, K.S. Thennarasu, filed his nomination papers with the Returning Officer and Erode Corporation Commissioner K. Sivakumar, on Tuesday, the last date for the filing.

Accompanied by former AIADMK MLA K.V. Ramalingam, Tamil Maanila Congress youth wing president M. Yuvaraja and two other functionaries, the 65-year-old two time MLA filed his paper at noon. Mr. Thennarasu was elected as MLA from the Erode Assembly constituency in 2001 (before delimitation) and from the Erode (East) Assembly constituency in 2011. He is also the secretary of the AIADMK Erode Urban District M.G.R. Mandram and secretary of the Erode (East) Assembly constituency from 2011.

Mr. Thennarasu, was initially supposed to file his papers on February 3, but had postponed the filing to the last day.

With a judgment on the dispute over the amendments made in the party’s bylaws in July 11 2022 reserved as of yet, the Supreme Court had given an interim direction, asking the AIADMK’s general council members to finalise the party’s official candidate. The court had also asked members to authorise A. Tamil Magan Hussain, presidium chairman of the party, to sign Form A and B for the party’s official candidate.

On Monday, the AIADMK’s deposed coordinator O. Panneerselvam, had withdrawn his faction’s candidate, B. Senthil Murugan. The general council’s decision to choose Mr. Thennarasu as the official candidate was communicated to the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday.

The ECI, in a communication to the Returning Officer K. Sivakumar, said Mr. Hussain has been authorised for all official communication on behalf of the AIADMK for the ongoing by-election. Mr. Hussain signed Form ‘A’ and ‘B’ for the candidate.

The bypoll was necessitated by the death of the former MLA E. Thirumahan Everaa.

AMMK pulls out of fray

AMMK general secretary T.T.V. Dhinakaran on Tuesday announced the withdrawal of his party’s candidate, A.M. Siva Phrashanth, from the fray in the Erode (East) Assembly constituency.

The EC had said it would not allot the ‘cooker’ symbol to the AMMK for the byelection, unlike during the 2019 Lok Sabha or 2021 Assembly elections.

Had the party chosen to contest the byelection against this backdrop, it would have created “unnecessary confusion”, Mr. Dhinakaran said.

During discussions with senior functionaries, it was felt that it would be appropriate for the party to opt out of the contest, he said, adding, “We will face the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections on the victory symbol of cooker.”

54 nominations filed on last date

As many as 54 nominations were filed on the seventh and final day of the filing of nominations on Tuesday.

In his affidavit, Mr. Thennarasu declared moveable assets worth ₹1.08 crore in his name and ₹1.04 crore-worth moveable assets in his wife’s name. He also declared immoveable assets worth ₹2.27 crore and those of his spouse worth ₹1.78 crore. He declared his liabilities as nil.

Prominent candidates who have filed their nominations are: E.V.K.S. Elangovan of the Congress; Menaka of the Naam Tamilar Katchi; and S. Anand of the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam.

A total of 120 nominations were filed for the byelection.

Scrutiny will take place on February 8, while nominations can be withdrawn on February 10. Polling will be held on February 27 and the counting of votes on March 2.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.