Tamil Nadu

DMK Lok Sabha list has 27 new faces

The DMK, which will take on the ruling AIADMK in 34 constituencies in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry seat, has 27 new faces in the list of candidates for the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. The list was released by party president M. Karunanidhi on Monday.

The youngest among them is 26-year-old woman H. Pavitra Valli, an MBA holder, who will contest from Erode.

Another woman candidate is S. Umarani for the Salem constituency.

The oldest contestant is the former Minister, Pon. Muthuramalingam, for Theni.

Dayanidhi Maran retains seat

In Chennai, T.K.S. Elangovan, elected from North Chennai has been fielded in South Chennai and the North Chennai candidate is 52-year-old advocate R. Girirajan, a loyalist of party treasurer M.K. Stalin. The former Union Minister, Dayanidhi Maran, has retained Central Chennai.

Former Union Minister S. Jagathrakshagan has been given the Sriperumbudur seat instead of Arakkonam, the constituency which returned him in 1999 and again in 2009.

N.R. Elango, a well-known lawyer, who appeared for many senior DMK ministers in the cases filed by the State government, is the candidate for Arakkonam.

A.K.S. Vijayan, a three-time MP from the Nagapattinam (reserved) seat has got re-nomination.

Pongalur N. Palanisamy, former Minister, is the candidate for Pollachi and another former Minister Pon. Muthuramalingam has been fielded in Theni.

R. Thamaraiselvan, adjudged as one of the top performers in the Lok Sabha by the PRS Legislative Research (PRS), will again contest from the Dharmapuri constituency.

The former Union Minister S. Gandhi Selvan has been re-nominated from Namakkal.

P. Jagan, son of N. Periyasami, the DMK’s strong man in Tuticorin, has been given ticket to contest from the Tuticorin constituency.

Actor J.K. Ritheesh, Alagiri loyalist, representing Ramanathapuram, did not seek ticket this time. S. Mohamed Jaleel has been named as the candidate for the constituency.

Seats for former AIADMK men

Former AIADMK Minister M. Chinnasamy, who joined the DMK a few years ago, is the candidate for Karur.

F.M. Rajarathinam, who reigned supreme in the AIADMK in Kanyakumari during the days of MGR, has been allotted the Kanyakumari seat for switching loyalty to the DMK.

Besides, three former Union Ministers — M.K. Alagiri, S.S. Palanimanickam and D. Napoleon, the sitting MPs who could not get tickets are E.G. Sugavanam, a two-time MP from Krishnagiri, J.K. Ritheesh, an Alagiri supporter, who was elected from the Ramanathapuram constituency, D. Venugopal, representing Tiruvannamalai constituency, Adhi Shankar, elected from Kallakurichi, S. R. Jeyadurai, elected from the Thoothukudi constituency and Helen Davidson, representing the Kanyakumari constituency.

Three doctors

There are three doctors — K. Muthaiyan (Villupuram), M. Senthilnathan (Tirupur) and K. Nandagopalakrishnan (Cuddalore) — in the list and all of them are new faces.

The other new faces include R. Girirajan (North Chennai) G. Selvam (Kancheepuram) P. Chinna Pillappa (Krishnagiri), C.N. Annadurai (Tiruvannamalai), former MLA R. Sivanandam (Arni), R. Manimaran (Kallakurichi), K. Ganeshkumar (Coimbatore), S. Gandhirajan (Dindigul), S. Durairaj (Sivaganga), S. Rethinavelu (Virudhunagar) and S. Prabu (Perambalur).

1 Chennai North — R Girirajan

2 Chennai South — TKS Elangovan

3 Central Chennai — Dayanidhi Maran

4 Sriperumbudur — S Jegathrakshakan

5 Kanchipuram (SC) — G Selvam

6 Arakkonam — NR Elango

7 Krishnagiri — P Chinna Pillappa

8 Dharmapuri — R Thamarai Selvan

9 Tiruvannamalai — CN Annadurai

10 Arani — R Sivanandam

11 Villupuram (SC) — Dr K Muthayan

12 Kallakurichi — R Manimaran

13 Salem — S Umarani

14 Namakkal — S Gandhiselvan

15 Erode — H Pavitra Valli

16 Tiruppur — Dr S Senthilnathan

17 Nilgiri (SC) — A Raja

18 Coimbatore — K Ganeshkumar

19 Pollachi — N Palanisamy

20 Dindugul — S Gandhirajan

21 Karur — M Chinnusamy

22 Tiruchirappally — NMU Anbazhagan

23 Perambalur — S Prabu

24 Cuddalore — Dr K Nandagopalakrishnan

25 Nagapattinam (SC) — AKS Vijayan

26 Thanjavur — TR Baalu

27 Sivagangai — S Durairaj

28 Madurai — V Velusamy

29 Theni — Pon Muthuramalingam

30 Virudhunagar — S Rethinavelu

31 Ramanathapuram — S Mohamed Jaleel

32 Tuticorin — P Jegan

33 Tirunelveli — C Devadasa Sundaram

34 Kanyakumari — FM Rajarathinam

35 Puducherry — AMH Nazeem

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 2, 2020 7:25:23 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/dmk-lok-sabha-list-has-27-new-faces/article5770439.ece

Next Story