'AIADMK government will prove its majority on Assembly floor'

Undying spirit: AIADMK volunteers break into celebration at the party headquarters in Royapettah in Chennai on Monday.  

The AIADMK government will prove its majority on the floor of the Assembly as and when it is necessary, according to party organising secretary and Rajya Sabha member R. Vaithilingam. “The present government will continue its excellent performance and remain in office for the next four years,” he said on Tuesday.

His assertion follows the action of 19 MLAs loyal to the “ousted” deputy general secretary T.T.V. Dhinakaran on Tuesday meeting Governor Ch. Vidyasagar Rao and and submitting letters withdrawing their support to Mr. Palaniswami.

The present Assembly was constituted on May 21, 2016.

Read more

Revolting MLAs reach Puducherry

The pro-Dhinakaran MLAs proceeded to a resort in the neighbouring Puducherry later in the evening. Eighteen legislators, except Mr. Vetrivel are now staying in the resort. - Our Puducherry Correspondent reports

Deputy CM decision 'mind-boggling', says MLA

Seven of the nineteen MLAs supporting T.T.V. Dhinakaran check into Windflower Resort and Spa in Chinna Veerampattinam.

Andipatti MLA Thangatamilselvan says that the number of MLAs supporting T.T.V. Dhinakaran would increase. Meanwhile, MLAs R. Thangadurai and S. Muthiah say it was O. Panneerselvam who had caused a split in the party and had also attempted to destabilise the AIADMK rule.

"It is mind-boggling that he has been made Deputy CM without consulting us,"  they said.

DMK demands trust vote, cites 'SR Bommai case'

DMK Working President and Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly M K Stalin in a letter to Rao claimed that “consequent upon identical letters given by 22 MLAs to the Governor expressing lack of confidence on the chief minister, an unprecedented constitutional crisis has erupted.”

The DMK leader said, as a result of the letters given by MLAs, the incumbent government led by Mr. Palaniswami has “lost” its majority.

He said in a similar previous occasion in Karnataka, the Governor of that State had directed then Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa to prove his majority in the House.

Any inordinate delay in asking the chief minister to prove majority would pave the way for continuance of an “unconstitutional” government, he said in the letter, a copy of which was circulated to the media in Chennai.

“As the leader of Opposition, I, therefore, request the Governor to direct Palaniswami to prove his majority in the House immediately,” Mr. Stalin said.

The DMK will take a “good decision” on the trust vote at an appropriate time, he later said.

Dhinakaran 'expels' Vaithilingam

A day after the unified AIADMK appointed R. Vaithilingam as deputy coordinator of the party, T.T.V. Dhinakaran on Tuesday 'expelled' him. In a signed announcement  through the party's letterpad, Mr. Dhinakaran asked party cadres not to have any relations with Mr. Vaithilingam.

'CM will take action'

Co-operation Minister Sellur K. Raju is confident that the government will serve its full term. "The Chief Minister will take appropriate action. He will also take action to bring together everyone into one fold," he said.

'Wait and see how we will change Chief Minister'

The19 pro-Dhinakaran MLAs were reportedly upset with the move to remove V.K. Sasikala from the general secretary post. "We are against their decision to remove our Chinnamma (Sasikala)", MLA Thanga Tamilselvan said after meeting the Governor.

"Our aim is to bring a no-confidence motion against the Chief Minister. You will have to wait and see how we will change the Chief Minister," he said.

The pro-Dhinakaran MLAs

Following are the pro-Dhinakaran MLAs:

P. Vetrivel (Perambur)

Thangatamilselvan (Andipatti) 

P. Palaniappan (Papparapatti) 

M. Rangasamy (Thanjavur)

L.G. Subramanian (Sattur)

S. Mariappan Kennedy (Maanamadurai)

S.T.K. Jakkaiyan (Kambam)

R. Sunderraj (Ottappidaram)

R. Thangadurai (Nilakottai)

N.G. Parthiban (Sholinghur)

Elumalai (Poonamallee) 

Uma Maheswari (Vilathikulam)

Senthil Balaji (Aravakurichi)

K. Kathirkamu (Periyakulam)

S. Muthiah (Paramakudi) 

M. Kothandapani (Thiruporur)

R. Murugan (Aroor)

R. Balasubramanian (Ambur)

Jayanthi (Gudiyatham)

According to sources, the MLAs handed over the letters signed individually, about their present stance towards the government. Stating that though they (19 MLAs) were among the 121 MLAs who had supported Mr. Palaniswami's government, they were compelled to withdraw support to him, since he has lost the confidence of the MLAs.

However, the letter says the "withdrawal of support" was only to the Chief Minister and not for the AIADMK government. This may be construed that the Dhinakaran camp is aiming for a change in the CM's post.

Maithreyan meets Governor

Soon after the Dhinakaran camp MLAs left the Raj Bhavan, V. Maithreyan, AIADMK MP and supporter of O. Panneerselvam, met Mr. Rao and appraised him of the MLAs support to the the Edappadi government. Latest reports say that after the meetings, Mr. Rao will leave for Mumbai later today.

OPS gets additional portfolio

In a related development, Mr. Panneerselvam on Tuesday was allocated additional portfolios. According to a Raj Bhavan press release, “Planning, Legislative Assembly, Elections and Passports, held by D. Jayakumar has been allocated to Mr. Panneerselvam in addition to the portfolios held by him. Consequently Mr. Jayakumar has been re-designated as Minister for Fisheries, Personnel and Administrative reforms."

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 29, 2020 10:57:49 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/dhinakaran-camp-mlas-meet-tn-governor/article19538757.ece

Next Story