Tamil Nadu

AMMK fields Michael Royappan instead of Gnana Arulmani in Tirunelveli

The Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) on Monday announced the replacement of its nominee for the Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency, R. Gnana Arulmani, with S. Michael Royappan, former Radhapuram legislator.

This was stated in a release issued by T.T.V. Dhinakaran, deputy general secretary of the AMMK.

Mr Royappan, a film producer-turned-politician, was elected on the ticket of the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) in May 2011. After the ties between the AIADMK and the DMDK turned sour, he, in October 2012, announced his support to the then Chief Minister Jayalalithaa and formally joined the AIADMK in February 2016.

For the Hosur Assembly seat, the party’s candidate was V. Pugazhendhi, secretary of the Karnataka unit of the party and the Krishnagiri district’s in charge. N. Tamilmaran, secretary of the youth wing for Puducherry, would be the AMMK’s aspirant for the Puducherry Lok Sabha seat.

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 12, 2020 3:21:41 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/ammk-fields-michael-royappan-instead-of-gnana-arulmani-in-tirunelveli/article26632320.ece

Next Story