AIADMK wins Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Hosur

October 21, 2011 07:03 pm | Updated August 02, 2016 03:39 pm IST - KRISHNAGIRI/DHARMAPURI

The ruling Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) sweeps in all the three municipalities in Krishnagiri and Dharmapuri district in the local body elections held on October 17 and 19.

K.R.C. Thangamuthu was elected as Chairman of Krishnagiri Muncipality with a margin of 4215 votes against his nearest rival K.C. Krishnan of DMK. Votes polled in favour of Thangamuthu were 14,411 and that of Krishangiri was 10,196. The Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam candidate P. Paranthaman was in the third place with 2424 votes. The AIADMK also won in the 17 wards out of 33 in the Krishnagiri Municipality. The DMK stood in the second position with 8, Independents 5, Indian National Congress 2 and DMDK 1.

Dharmapuri Municipality

K. Sumathy of AIADMK was elected as Chairman for the Dharmapuri Municipality. She won the election with a margin of 2659 votes against her rival candidate M. Kandasamy of DMK, who got 9164 votes.

The ruling party also bagged 18 out of 33 wards in the Municipality. The DMK won in 7 wards, PMK 2, DMDK 1, CPI 1 and Independents 4.

Hosur Municipality

B. Balakrishna Reddy of AIADMK was elected for the post of Chairman with a margin of 11,928 votes against his rival DMK candidate N.S. Madheshwaran. Mr. Reddy got 35,344 votes, Mr. Madheshwaran got 23,416 votes. The PMK candidate J.P. alias Jayaprakash got 15,291 votes.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.