Tamil Nadu

AIADMK scripts a comeback in Chidambaram

It was a great comeback for the AIADMK in Chidambaram (reserved) constituency where they have scripted a thumping victory after three decades.

However, what makes it notable is that the AIADMK had contested on its own and won a constituency that has a sizeable Dalit and Vanniyar population.

The last time the AIADMK won the constituency was in 1977 when its candidate Murugesan defeated his nearest rival Rajangam (DMK) by a margin of over one lakh votes. After the 1977 general elections, the AIADMK has been allotting the seat to its allies. The Congress’ P.Vallal Peruman, with the support of the AIADMK, had won the constituency in 1984, 1989, and 1991. Dr. Vallal Peruman, however, tasted defeat in 1996, 1998, and 2014 elections. Prior to delimitation, the constituency encompassed Kurinjipadi, Bhuvanagiri, Kattumannarkoil (reserved), Chidambaram, Vriddhachalam and Mangalur (reserved) Assembly segments – all of which were in Cuddalore revenue district.

Post delimitation, the constituency included Kunnam, Ariyalur, Jayankondam in Ariyalur district, and Bhuvanagiri, Chidambaram, and Kattumannarkoil (reserved) in Cuddalore district.

The AIADMK nominated M. Chandrakasi, a former MLA, in the constituency that witnessed a multi-cornered battle with the Vidhuthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK), Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), and the Congress in the fray. VCK leader and sitting MP Thol. Thirumavalavan contested for the fourth time in a row from the constituency where the PMK tested its luck for the seventh consecutive time since 1991.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 12, 2021 9:17:36 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/aiadmk-scripts-a-comeback-in-chidambaram/article6020958.ece

Next Story