lok sabha lection 2014 Tamil Nadu

AIADMK, Left parties begin seat-sharing talks for LS polls

After clinching the alliance for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls, the AIADMK and the two Left parties on Wednesday made a further move and held first round of seat-sharing talks.

The AIADMK has constituted a four-member team, comprising Finance Minister O. Panneerselvam, Electricity Minister Natham R. Viswanathan, Municipal Administration Minister K.P. Munusamy and Housing Minister R. Vaithilingam for holding talks with allies.

The meeting was held at the AIADMK headquarters and the CPI(M) was represented by its State secretary G. Ramakrishnan, Legislative Party leader A. Soundararajan and whip K. Balakrishnan.

Asked whether the party has presented the list of constituencies it was intended to contest, Mr. Ramakrishnan said it was only a preliminary meeting.

The AIADMK held a separate meeting with the CPI leaders. CPI State secretary D. Pandian, deputy secretaries G. Palanisamy and C. Mahendran were present.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls also the Left parties were part of the AIADMK alliance and were allotted three seats each. While the CPI contested from Nagapattinam, North Chennai and Tenkasi, the CPI(M) from Kanyakumari, Madurai and Coimbatore. The CPI won the Tenkasi constituency and the CPI(M) secured Coimbatore.

The AIADMK contested in 23 seats and won 9 seats. The MDMK also faced the polls along with the AIADMK and contested in four constituencies. It could win only in Erode constituency. The PMK was allotted seven seats in the alliance, but it drew a blank.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 4, 2020 8:01:35 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/aiadmk-left-parties-begin-seatsharing-talks-for-ls-polls/article5655977.ece

Next Story