AIADMK fields three sitting MPs, 8 ex-MLAs

Jayakumar’s son among many new faces in the list

February 25, 2014 02:35 am | Updated November 16, 2021 06:32 pm IST - CHENNAI

Chief Minister and AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa on Monday released the list of party candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, retaining three sitting MPs — M. Thambidurai (Karur), Dr. P. Venugopal (Tiruvallur) and P. Kumar (Tiruchi), rehabilitating a couple of candidates and introducing many new faces with good academic background.

The sitting MPs who could not get re-nomination are C. Rajendran (South Chennai), S. Semmalai (Salem), C. Sivasami (Tirupur), K. Sugumar (Pollachi), O.S. Manian (Mayiladuthurai) and K. Anandan (Villupuram)

Four among the contestants are doctors and 15 are lawyers. The list also has a substantial number of postgraduates, some of whom are also lawyers.

The four women candidates are: Maragatham Kumaravel (Kancheepuram); R Vanaroja (Tiruvannamalai); V. Sathyabhama (Tirupur) and Vasanthi Murugesan (Tenkasi). Ms Vasanthi is the wife of former AIADMK MP, Murugesan, elected from Tenkasi twice.

The Chief Minister has introduced new candidates for all the three constituencies in Chennai. Former Speaker D. Jayakumar's son J. Jayavardhan, who is doing MD (general medicine) at Sri Ramachandra University here, has been fielded from South Chennai. T. G. Venkatesh Babu, TIDCO chairman, is the candidate for North Chennai and the party's student wing secretary S. R. Vijayakumar for Central Chennai.

Another well-known face in the list is former Minister and the party’s minority wing secretary A. Anwar Raja. Besides, seven former MLAs have been given tickets.

P. R. Sundaram, who functioned as the AIADMK’s floor leader in the Assembly for a short spell, will contest from Namakkal.

He is one among four AIADMK candidates who won in the 1996 Assembly elections. He was re-elected in 2001.

Other former MLAs given party tickets are G. Hari, who represented Tirutani during 2006-2011; M. Chandrakasi (Varahur) and A. Arunmozhithevan (Chidambaram).

Of those holding positions in local bodies, Deputy Mayor of Madurai Corporation R. Gopalakrishnan and his namesake, C. Gopalakrishnan, chairperson of the Coonoor municipality, will contest from Madurai and The Nilgiris respectively.

For the Union Territory of Puducherry, Ms. Jayalalithaa has fielded M.V. Omalingam, a former MLA.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.