Qatar World Cup 2022Messi: Angry for missing penalty, but Argentina came out stronger after my mistake

R.K. Nagar bypoll: Jayalalithaa files nomination

June 05, 2015 02:21 pm | Updated November 17, 2021 05:26 am IST - Chennai

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa filed her nomination on Friday afternoon to contest the by-election in R.K. Nagar constituency on June 27.

With almost all opposition parties deciding to keep out of the contest, barring the Left and some independent candidates, the Chief Minister is widely expected to win the election in the urban constituency that faces several civic challenges including in areas such as water supply, conservancy.

Thousands of supporters were seen in Tondiarpet, north Chennai where Ms. Jayalalithaa, accompanied by her aide Sasikala, arrived around 2 p.m.. Former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam was also present.

Five candidates — K. Padmarajan (Independent), M. Ahamed Shahjahan (Independent), D. Ravi Paraiyanar [Republican Party of India (A)], K.R. Ramaswamy or ‘Traffic’ Ramaswamy (Independent) and R. Abraham Raj Mohan [People’s Party of India (Secular)] filed their nomination — filed their nomination on Wednesday.

PTI adds

The entire route beginning from her residence was decorated with festoons as AIADMK members braving the scorching sun waved the party flag and greeted her amid playing of traditional south Indian music instruments.

Having been acquitted in a wealth case that threatened to derail her political career, Ms. Jayalalithaa returned as Chief Minister of the state for the fifth time last month and has to be elected as MLA within six months.

P Vetrivel of AIADMK had quit as MLA of RK Nagar on May 17, paving the way for Jayalalithaa to contest from a city constituency and return to the 234-member state Assembly in which her party enjoys a strong majority of 150.

This is the first time Ms. Jayalalithaa is contesting for the Assembly from any constituency in Chennai.

In 1989, she had represented Bodinayakanur (Theni) and later Bargur (Krishnagiri) and Andipatti (Theni), all rural constituencies.

In the 2011 elections, she had won from her native and temple town of Srirangam (Tiruchirappalli), but had to vacate it following her conviction in the Rs 66.66 crore disproportionate assets case by a trial court in Bengaluru.

She was however acquitted of all charges by Karnataka High Court on May 11, paving her way for return as Chief Minister.

She was subsequently sworn in on May 23.

Ms. Jayalalithaa was accorded a warm reception by party flag-waving supporters, local functionaries and residents as she proceeded for filing nomination.

The route that she took resembled a carnival atmosphere, with traditional Tamil and Kerala percussion instruments being played to greet the leader.

Supporters and party workers were seen in different hues of colours in the form of outfit and creative headgear as they waited patiently to catch a glimpse of their ‘Amma’ (Mother) seeking election from a city constituency for the first time.

Security was stepped up in view of Ms. Jayalalithaa filing nomination.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.