Tamil Nadu

Historic moments, historic personalities

FROM THAT ERA: Chief Minister M.G. Ramachandran, with V.N. Janaki, who succeeded him, and V.R.Nedunchezhian (far left), at a public event in February1985.

FROM THAT ERA: Chief Minister M.G. Ramachandran, with V.N. Janaki, who succeeded him, and V.R.Nedunchezhian (far left), at a public event in February1985.  

As it moves into its new home, here is a potted history marking some moments in the life of the Tamil Nadu Legislature:

In early 1927, Muthulakshmy Reddy, the well-known medical practitioner and social activist, became the first woman legislator in the country when she was nominated by Viscount Goschen, Madras Governor, to the Madras Legislative Council. She went on to become the Deputy President of the Council.

An adjournment motion moved by Congress leader S. Satyamurti against the confiscation of books containing Subramania Bharati's songs was adopted bythe Legislative Council in October 1928.

Rukmini Lakshmipathy was the first woman elected to the Legislative Assembly. She held the post of Deputy Speaker of the Assembly during the period July 1937 to October 1945. She also had the distinction of being the first woman Minister in the State when she became Health Minister in 1946 in the Prakasam Ministry.

U. Rama Rao and U. Krishna Rao formed the only father-son duo to become the presiding officers of the two Houses in the State. Rama Rao was the Chairman of the Council during 1937-45, while his son became the Speaker of the Assembly in April 1957. Krishna Rao held the post till August 3, 1961, when he died.

C. Rajagopalachari, popularly known as Rajaji, became the first elected Chief Minister (then called Premier) of the State in 1937. Fifteen years later, when he became the Chief Minister again, he became the first non-elected Chief Minister as he was a nominated member of the Legislative Council.

Exactly a month after Independence, the Legislative Assembly adopted a resolution, greeting Mahatma Gandhi and recording its appreciation of the services of those who had suffered and sacrificed for the cause of freedom. On September 16, the Legislative Council adopted a similar resolution.

It was Omandur P. Ramaswamy Reddi who was Chief Minister of the State at the time of Independence. The Government Estate is named after him.

K. Kamaraj, who was Chief Minister during 1954-1963, had the distinction of facing the general Assembly elections and retaining power twice — in 1957 and in 1962.

C.N. Annadurai, who was Chief Minister of the State barely for two years (1967 to 1969), passed away while in office. So did M.G. Ramachandran, who was Chief Minister for 10 years (1977-1987) with a four-month break in 1980.

Both Houses of the Legislature organised a function at the Assembly Hall on the midnight of August 14, 1972to mark the silver jubilee of Independence. K.K. Shah, the then Governor of the State, addressed the members.

At the stroke of midnight, the members stood in silence for two minutes in memory of those who sacrificed their lives during the freedom struggle.

In July 1997, a function was organised at the Madras University Centenary Auditorium to celebrate the platinum jubilee of the State Legislature and the diamond jubilee of the Assembly. R. Venkataraman, former President, and C. Subramaniam, who was State Finance Minister during 1952-1962 and later became Union Agriculture and Finance Minister, attended it. M. Karunanidhi, the only person to have been sworn in Chief Minister of the State five times, had the distinction of being at the helm of affairs during the silver jubilee and golden jubilee celebrations of Independence.

When Jayalalithaa became Chief Minister in June 1991, she became the youngest person to hold the post: she was 43. When Mr. Karunanidhi was sworn in Chief Minister for the first time in February 1969, he was 44.

Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin is the only person to have held the post of Member of Legislative Assembly and Chennai Mayor concurrently (during 1996-2002).

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 30, 2020 2:46:36 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/Historic-moments-historic-personalities/article16566829.ece

Next Story