Tamil Nadu

77.8% polling in Tamil Nadu

Voters flash their EPICs as they queue up at a polling booth in Kulithalai constituency, Karur district on Wednesday. The district recorded the highest turnout in the Tamil Nadu Assembly election. Photo: R.M. Rajarathinam  

About 3.66 crore electors in Tamil Nadu cast their votes in the Assembly elections on Wednesday, accounting for 77.8 per cent of the total electorate of about 4.71 crore.

Compared to the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, nearly 63 lakh more people exercised their franchise this time. Compared to the 2006 Assembly elections, about 36 lakh more voters participated in the exercise now.

Releasing the district-wise figures for turnout, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Praveen Kumar said that as verification of data was still under way in some districts, the data should be considered provisional.

Highest turnout in Karur district

The highest turnout was in Karur district with 86 per cent, followed by Ariyalur with 84.1.

By a strange coincidence, the northern district of Chennai and the southernmost district of Kanyakumari polled substantially less than the State average. The figures were 68.02 and 68 per cent.

Districts which registered over 80 per cent turnout are: Cuddalore and Nagapattinam - 80.6 per cent each; Krishnagiri and Virudhunagar – 80.8 each; Villupuram, Dharmapuri and Dindigul – 81.2 each; Erode and Tiruvarur – 81.3 each; Salem – 81.9; Perambalur – 82; Namakkal – 82.4 and Tiruvannamalai – 83.6 per cent.

Districts which were in the range of 75-80 per cent are: Kancheepuram and Coimbatore – 75 per cent each; Sivaganga – 75.6; Tiruvallur – 76; Madurai – 76.8; Tirupur – 77.7; Theni – 78.9; Tiruchi – 79; Vellore – 79.5; Pudukottai – 79.8 and Thanjavur – 79.9 per cent.

Four districts recorded 70-75 per cent. They are: Ramanathapuram – 70.7; the Nilgiris – 71.9; Tirunelveli – 74.6 and Tuticorin – 74.9 per cent.

Repoll on Saturday in seven polling stations

The CEO announced that repolling would be held in seven polling stations in five constituencies on Saturday.

Two stations of Samathikuppam in the Neyveli constituency of Cuddalore district, one station each in Valaiyavattam and Paruthikudi in Thiruvidaimarudur of Thanjavur district, Ananthamangalam in Killiyoor of Kanyakumari district, Arni (polling station number 164) of Tiruvannamalai district and Sangarapuram in Bodinaickanur of Theni district would have the repoll.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 16, 2021 2:43:16 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/77.8-polling-in-Tamil-Nadu/article14683214.ece

Next Story