Tamil Nadu

14 constituent colleges made government institutions

The Higher Education Department has issued an order to convert 14 of the 41 constituent colleges of State-run universities into government arts and science colleges.

The move, which has come nearly a year late, was based on the announcement made by Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami in the Assembly under Rule 110.

Other colleges

According to Section 3(i) of the order, the remaining colleges would be converted over the next three years as converting them at the same time would be a significant financial burden. But, Section 3(ii) states that the government would only “consider” it.

The 14 colleges include four of Bharathidasan University, two each of Madurai Kamaraj University, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Bharathiar University, and Tiruvalluvar University, and one college each of Tiruvalluvar University and Mother Teresa Women’s University.

Sanctioned strength

Concerns have been raised over the staff strength sanctioned to the 14 colleges. A. Kathali Narasinga Perumal, State president, Tamil Nadu Constituent Colleges Guest Lecturers’ Association, said for almost all the 14 colleges, only around 50% of the present number of teaching staff had been sanctioned.

While the constituent college of Madurai Kamaraj University in Andipatti had around 45 teaching staff members, the government order sanctioned only 23, including the principal, librarian and physical education director.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 25, 2022 8:49:50 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/14-constituent-colleges-made-government-institutions/article26421520.ece

Next Story