Shiv Sena to back govt. in no-confidence vote tomorrow

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray. File.   | Photo Credit: Vivek Bendre

The Shiv Sena will vote in favour of the BJP-led government during the Opposition sponsored no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha on Friday, according to a source close to party chief Uddhav Thackeray.

“We will support the BJP. A formal announcement will be made,” the source told PTI  in Mumbai on Thursday.

The no-trust vote will be the first one since the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government was formed four years ago. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan’s decision to accept the motion, moved by former BJP ally TDP and others came on the first day of the monsoon session of Parliament on Wednesday.


Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party president N. Chandrababu Naidu has sought the support of other parties for the motion, citing the NDA government’s “non-fulfilment of the promise” to grant special status for the State.

Sena leader Sanjay Raut on Friday said his party would disclose its stand on the floor of the House. “A decision has been taken. We will let it be known inside the House,” he said.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 19, 2021 7:56:36 AM |

Next Story