Sharad Kumar appointed as interim Chief Vigilance Commissioner

Sharad Kumar/ File

Sharad Kumar/ File   | Photo Credit: V. Sudershan


Sharad Kumar, former Chief of the National Investigation Agency, had taken over as Vigilance Commissioner in 2018

Vigilance Commissioner Sharad Kumar has been named interim Central Vigilance Commisioner until a new incumbent is chosen by the selection panel headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Former Central Vigilance Commissioner K. V. Chowdary and Vigilance Commissioner T. M. Bhasin completed their tenure at the anti-graft body on Sunday and Monday respectively.

Mr. Kumar, who is the second Vigilance Commissioner, has been authorised to act as the CVC until the appointment of the Central Vigilance Commissioner, an order issued by Personnel Ministry said.

Mr. Kumar, former Chief of the National Investigation Agency, took over as Vigilance Commissioner on June 12, 2018. His tenure at the Central Vigilance Commission will end in October 2020, when he completes 65 years of age.

Mr. Chowdary and Mr. Bhasin were credited for bringing in certain systemic changes at the CVC to tackle corruption. Mr. Chowdary, who had been Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes – the policy-making body of the Income Tax department – ensured that the time taken in resolving graft complaints by the Commission is reduced and started a monthly lecture series for Chief Vigilance Officers (CVOs).

Mr. Bhasin, former Chief Managing Director of Indian Bank, brought in several measures to ensure corruption-free working of banks. During his tenure, the CVC came out with a report after analysis of top 100 banks frauds in the country.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Personnel has started the process of shortlisting the candidates for the posts of CVC and Vigilance Commissioner. It recently extended the last date for receiving applications for the third consecutive time.

The Ministry had in March-end initiated the process of filling up the posts of Central Vigilance Commissioner and Vigilance Commissioner. The last date for sending application to the ministry was May 1, which was first extended to May 22 and then till June 6 due to insufficient applications. The date has now been further extended to June 17.

The Central Vigilance Commission consists of a Central Vigilance Commissioner and two Vigilance Commissioners. A Committee headed by the Prime Minister, and comprising the Home Minister and the Leader of Opposition or a leader of single largest opposition party in Lok Sabha as members, select CVC and Vigilance Commissioners.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics National
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 19, 2020 12:48:40 PM |

Next Story