Ram Mohan Roy award for N. Ram

N. Ram, Chairman, The Hindu Group. File   | Photo Credit: Nagara Gopal

Veteran journalist and The Hindu publishing group chairman N. Ram has been chosen for the prestigious Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award, presented by the Press Council of India (PCI), for his outstanding contribution towards journalism, the Council announced on Monday.

The award will be presented on November 16 on the occasion of the National Press Day.

In a statement, the PCI also announced National Awards for Excellence in Journalism for 2018. Ruby Sarkar, Chief Correspondent of Deshbandhu, Bhopal, and Rajesh Parshuram Joshte of Daily Pudhari, Ratnagiri, have been named joint winners for ‘Rural Journalism’.

V.S. Rajesh, Deputy Editor, Kerala Kaumudhi, has been selected under the award category of Developmental Reporting, the PCI said in a statement.

Subhash Paul, Rashtriya Sahara, Delhi, was named as a winner of the award in the ‘Photo Journalism-Single News’ category, while Mihir Singh of the Punjab Kesari, Delhi has been selected in the category of ‘Photo Journalism-Photo Feature’, the statement said.

Under the category of ‘Best Newspaper Art: covering cartoons, caricature and illustrations’, P. Narasimha, Cartoon Editor, Nava Telangana, Hyderabad, was selected for the award.

No entry qualified in the newly introduced category of ‘Sports Reporting’.

The selection of awardees was carried out by a jury comprising eminent working journalists, senior editors, owners and managers representing print media.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 25, 2021 3:09:53 AM |

Next Story