The Hindu journalist wins PCI award


A jury constituted by the Press Council of India (PCI) has announced the names of the winners of its national awards for excellence in journalism. Rahi Gaikwad of The Hindu and Neha Bhatt of Outlook have been awarded certificate of creative excellence in the development reporting category. The award in the category goes to Kumar Sambhav Shrivastava of Down to Earth.

In the category of rural journalism, the winners are Corenlius Minz of Khabar Mantra, Jharkhand, and R. Samban of Desabhimani, Malappuram. The two will jointly get the award, which carries a cash prize, a PCI statement said. The certificate of creative excellence with a cash award in the category will be jointly shared by M. Shajil Kumar of the Malayala Manorama and Uttam Sengupta of Outlook.

In the Stree Shakti category, the award goes to Priyadarshani Sen of Outlook and certificate of creative excellence to Davis Paynadath of Deepika, Kerala.

The award in the photo journalism (single news picture) category goes to Neeraj Priyadarshi of the Indian Express and certificate of creative excellence to Kamal Kishore of PTI.

In the photo journalism category (photo feature), the award goes to Piyal Adhikary of European Pressphoto Agency. Ravi Kanojia of the Indian Express has been chosen for certificate of creative excellence.

In Urdu journalism category, the award will be jointly shared by Wasimul Haque of the daily Akhbare-E-Mashriq, Delhi, and Muhammad Atif of Sahafat, Delhi.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 20, 2020 12:45:55 AM |

Next Story