Poll panel questions award to Olympians

Manipuris’ felicitation under a cloud.

The Election Commission on Thursday asked the Central government to explain why it did not seek its permission before felicitating sportspersons in poll-bound Manipur.

“It has come to our notice through news reports that the Ministry of Development of North-Eastern Region [DoNER] and the Ministry of Home Affairs on February 28 felicitated nine sportspersons who participated in Rio Olympics from the North-Eastern States. Five of them hail from poll-bound Manipur,” said an EC official.

March 4 deadline

The poll panel has asked the government to respond by March 4.

Among the sportspersons of the North-East States honoured by the Centre were Dipa Karmakar (gymnastics), P. Sushila Chanu (hockey), H. Lal Ruatfeli (hockey), L. Bombayla Devi (archery), K. Chinglensan Singh (hockey), K. Kothajit Singh (hockey) and Saikhom Mirabai Chanu (weight lifting).

Two other sportspersons felicitated, but who did not attend the function, were Shiva Thapa (boxing) and T. Anuradha Devi (hockey). Each of them was presented a cash award of ₹2 lakh besides a memento.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 31, 2020 11:21:18 PM |

Next Story