Parliament passes Central Sanskrit Universities bill

A view of the Parliament House. | File

A view of the Parliament House. | File   | Photo Credit: Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

Earlier this week the Bill was passed by voice vote in the Upper House with some amendments.

Parliament on Friday passed the Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, which seeks to upgrade three deemed to be Sanskrit universities into central universities.

Earlier this week the Bill was passed by voice vote in the Upper House with some amendments.

The Bill, which was passed by Lok Sabha in December last year, was again take up for passage as it was amended by the upper house and passed with voice vote on Friday.

The three deemed universities of Sanskrit which would be upgraded to central universities are Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, Sri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, and Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth Tirupati.

Speaking on the Bill, Human Resource Development Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank had said the Modi government is committed to strengthen all Indian languages.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 7, 2020 11:47:26 AM |

Next Story