Other States

Uttar Pradesh panchayat polls | SP, BJP claim victory in U.P. panchayat polls

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav. File   | Photo Credit: PTI

The Uttar Pradesh State Election Commission on Tuesday evening directed its district units to not delay issuing of certificates to winning candidates after the Samajwadi Party (SP) alleged that candidates supported by it were not been given their certificates.

Strict action will be taken if it receives verified complaints of delay in issuing certificates in any district, the SEC said, adding that the counting process, which started on May 2, had concluded.

Earlier in the day, SP president Akhilesh Yadav had claimed that the party had been the “first preference” of the voters. “The victory of the Samajwadi Party in large numbers is a clear indication that is had acceptability among the farmers, youth and in villages,” Mr. Yadav said in a statement.

Alleging that victorious candidates supported by the SP were not receiving their certificates, the party said, “After being rejected by the people in Panchayat polls, the BJP government is resorting to fraud.” 

On Monday evening, the BJP had claimed that it was ahead of the other parties and candidates linked to it had won 918 zilla panchayat member seats while on 557 others they enjoyed a decisive lead.

Parties do not issue their symbols for the three-tier panchayat polls but indicate the candidates they support in the zilla panchayat election.

The SP did not mention specific number of candidates supported by it who won. Party spokesperson Rajendra Chaudhary, however, claimed that the BJP received a jolt in both Gorakhpur and Varanasi, the political home ground of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, respectively. The SP also received huge success in Lucknow, he said, adding that the BJP's “tricks” failed to work even in Prayagraj, Etawah and Azamgarh.

The State Election Commission on Monday evening said that so far 2.32 lakh gram panchayat members, 38,317 gram panchayat pradhans, 55,925 kshetra panchayat members and 181 Zilla Panchayat members have been elected.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 23, 2021 5:59:28 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/uttar-pradesh-panchayat-poll-results/article34480345.ece

Next Story