Other States

Shiv Sena's win puts Rane on the mat in Mumbai

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray with Trupti Sawant (R), who defeated Congress leader Narayan Rane in the bypoll to Bandra (East) Assembly seat. File photo  

In one of the most intensely fought by polls in recent times in Maharashtra, for the Bandra (East) assembly constituency in Mumbai, Shiv Sena’s candidate Trupti Sawant has defeated Congress heavyweight and former Chief Minister Narayan Rane by around 19,008 votes. The Sena has improved its victory margin by over 4000 votes compared to 2014 assembly poll results.

 In Sangli, late NCP leader R. R. Patil’s wife Suman Patil won the Tasgaon assembly constituency by a staggering margin of over one lakh votes against independent Swapnil Patil.  

In Mumbai, the Bandra (East) seat was previously held by Sena’s Bala Sawant and by poll was held on April 11 following his death. The Sena had given ticket his wife Trupti Sawant, while Mr. Rane had jumped in the fray in a hope to make a comeback in the state politics.

Mr. Rane, a former shivsainik who later joined the Congress had lost from his home turf in Konkan’s Kudal constituency in the recently held assembly elections.

In 2014, all political parties had contested elections independently, however for this by poll, the Sena and BJP had joined hands while Congress, NCP and SP had come together to support Mr. Rane.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) was also a third player in the battle for Bandra (East) and many considered it as a crucial factor which will aid Congress’ defeat by dividing sizeable Muslim votes. In 2014, its candidate Rahebar Khan had received 23,976 votes. The BJP had won 25,791 votes in 2014 polls.

As per the results declared on Wednesday, the Sena received 52,711 votes against the Congress’ 33,703 and AIMIM’s 15,050 votes.

“We have shown Narayan Rane his rightful place. He deserted our party and betrayed Balasaheb and now our shivsainiks have defeated him twice in less than one year. He can now go back to work in grampanchayat,” said Sena MP Vinayak Raut after the victory.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 31, 2020 7:48:54 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/trupti-sawant-trumps-narayan-rane-as-shiv-sena-retains-bandrae-seat/article7104850.ece

Next Story