Qatar World Cup 2022England vs Wales LIVE: Foden, Rashford in starting lineup as match kicks off

SP-ally Om Prakash Rajbhar's party to support NDA presidential nominee Droupadi Murmu

Earlier, the Shiv Sena and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha too had extended support to Droupadi Murmu

July 15, 2022 11:06 am | Updated July 16, 2022 12:48 am IST - Lucknow

File photo of Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party chief Om Prakash Rajbhar with Samajwadi Party national president Akhilesh Yadav.

File photo of Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party chief Om Prakash Rajbhar with Samajwadi Party national president Akhilesh Yadav. | Photo Credit: Sandeep Saxena

In yet another setback to the Opposition ahead of the Presidential election, the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) led by Om Prakash Rajbhar, a key ally of the Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh, announced its support for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) presidential nominee Droupadi Murmu on July 15.

Addressing a press conference in Lucknow, Mr. Rajbhar said Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had sought his support for Ms. Murmu, who comes from the tribal community, and his party had decided to support her. He maintained that he was still with the SP-led Opposition alliance on other issues.

Signs of discomfort in the Uttar Pradesh Opposition alliance have been visible for a while. Mr. Rajbhar attended a dinner hosted by the BJP in honour of Ms. Murmu in Lucknow last week and was not present at the meeting held by SP in support of the Opposition’s joint candidate Yashwant Sinha that was attended Akhilesh Yadav and Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Jayant Chaudhary. The SBSP has six members in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Mr. Rajbhar did not respond to requests from The Hindu for a comment on the issue.

This is the latest of several friction points between the SP and Mr. Rajbhar since the Lok Sabha bypolls and Rajya Sabha and Council elections where the SBSP was denied representation.

Earlier, Mr. Sinha’s presidential bid faced a setback after two major Opposition parties, the Shiv Sena and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, decided to support the NDA nominee.

Eligible members of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies will vote to elect the next President of India on July 18. The counting of votes will take place on July 21.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.