Other States

Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma wins South Tura Assembly bypoll

Meghalaya Chief Minister and  National People’s Party (NPP) president Conrad K. Sangma on Monday won the South Tura by-election, defeating his nearest Congress rival Charlotte W. Momin by over 8,400 votes.

While Mr. Sangma secured 13,655 votes, Ms. Momin polled 5,235 votes. Mr. Sangma's sister Agatha had vacated her seat to enable him to contest in the bypoll.

While the strength of the NPP continues to remain as 20 in the 60-member Assembly, the Congress has lost a seat.

United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Pious Marwein won the Ranikor Assembly seat by securing 9028 votes, defeating his nearest rival Martin M. Danggo.

Incidentally, Mr. Danggo, who was elected from Ranikor on the Congress ticket, joined the NPP and sought re-election. The five-time MLA, however, secured only 6287 votes this time. Congress candidate Jackuish A. Sangma managed to get only 711 votes and finished at the distant fourth.

Even though the NPP and the UDP are part of the six-party Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) that has formed the government, they chose to field candidates separately in Ranikor.

Besides the NPP, the MDA comprises the BJP (2), NCP (1), the UDP (8), the Peoples Democratic Front (4), the Hill State Peoples Democratic Party (2) and two Independents.


Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 23, 2021 6:54:06 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/meghalaya-cm-conrad-sangma-wins-south-tura-assembly-bypoll/article24789732.ece

Next Story