Other States

Charges under MCOCA dropped against 8 in Malagaon blast case

File photo of Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur.   | Photo Credit: PTI

The National Investigation Agency (NIA) court on Wednesday has dropped the charges under the Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) against eight accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case.

Special Judge S.D. Tekale dropped charges against Pragyasingh Thakur, Major Ramesh Upadhyay, Sameer Kulkarni, Ajay Rahirkar, Lt. Col. Prasad Purohit, Sudhakar Dwivedi and Sudhakar Chatruvedi. They have been discharged under Section 17 (punishment for raising funds for terrorist act), Section 20 (punishment for being member of terrorist gang or organisation), Section 23 (enchanced penalties) of Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA and Section 3 (licence for acquisition and possession of firearms and ammunition), Section 5 (licence for manufacture, sale, etc., of arms and ammunition), and Section 25 (punishment for offences) of Arms Act.

The court also discharged Rakesh Dhawde, Shivnarayan Kalsangra, Shyam Sahu, Praveen Takkalki are fully discharged from all charges of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), the Explosive Substances Act, The Arms Act, UAPA and MCOCA. The court directed them to furnish a bond of ₹30,000 with one or more sureties.

They have been discharged from Sections 302 (punishment for murder), Section 307 (attempt to murder), Section 326 (voluntarily causing grievous hurt by dangerous weapons or means), Section 324 (voluntarily causing hurt by dangerous weapons or means), Section 427 (mischief causing damage to the amount of fifty rupees), Section 153-A (promoting enmity between different groups) and Section 120-B (punishment of criminal conspiracy) of IPC.

Sections 3 (punishment for causing explosion likely to endanger life or property) Section 4 (punishment for attempt to cause explosion), Section 5 (punishment for making or possessing explosives under suspicious circumstances), Section 6 (punishment of abettors) of the Explosive Substances Act, 1908 and relevant Sections of Arms Act.

Section 16, section 17, Section 18, section 20 (punishment for being member of terrorist gang or organisation) and section 23 (enchanced penalties) of UAPA and provisions of section 3 (punishment for organised crime) under the MCOCA.

The court has also discharged Rakesh Dhawde and Jagdish Mhatre from sections of the IPC, Explosive Substances Act, UAPA and MCOCA and will face trial under Arms Act.

On January 15, the court will frame charges against Pragya Singh Thakur, Major Upadhyay, Ajay Rahirkar, Lt Col Purohit and Sudhakar Chaturvedi for murder, attempt to murder, voluntarily causing grievous hurt by dangerous weapons or means, promoting enmity between different groups and punishment of criminal conspiracy.


This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 26, 2020 4:48:14 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/malegaon-blast-case-mcoca-charges-against-sadhvi-purohit-go/article22287401.ece

Next Story