Kejriwal re-elected AAP national convener

Delhi CM elected to the post for third time

Published - September 13, 2021 01:29 am IST - NEW DELHI

Arvind Kejriwal

Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was on Sunday re-elected as the national convener of the Aam Aadmi Party for a period of five years. This is Mr. Kejriwal’s third term at the post. Party leaders Pankaj Gupta and N.D. Gupta were named national secretary and treasurer, respectively.

AAP in a statement said the national council of the party met on Saturday and elected the new national executive. The meeting was presided over by Mr. Kejriwal. At this meeting, 34 new national executive members were elected. The executive members include Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Imran Hussain, Rajendra Pal Gautam, Raghav Chadha, Atishi, Rakhi Birla among others.

The party said the new executive unanimously agreed to re-elect Mr. Kejriwal as the national convener. “Mr. Kejriwal stood for the party and its ideology even in the most unprecedented times and it would be the wisest decision to elect him for the third time,” the party said.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.