FIR against several BJP leaders; death toll up to 33

Akhilesh orders inquiry commission headed by retired judge

September 09, 2013 11:42 pm | Updated November 16, 2021 09:15 pm IST - Muzaffarnagar

A victim and her daughter are treated at the city hospital in Muzaffarnagar district of Uttar Pradesh on Monday. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

A victim and her daughter are treated at the city hospital in Muzaffarnagar district of Uttar Pradesh on Monday. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

Amid an ongoing political slugfest over the communal clashes that have claimed 33 lives so far, seven leaders from the BJP, one former Congress MP and a former BSP leader besides three from the Bharatiya Kisan Union (BKU) have been booked for allegedly whipping up communal passions through inflammatory speeches at a “mahapanchayat” organised in the city outskirts on September 7.

While none of the accused political leaders have been arrested yet, the State government on Monday instituted a one-member judicial commission headed by retired High Court judge Vishnu Sahai to inquire into the Muzaffarnagar riots. The commission will submit its report within two months.

Among those named in the First Information Report registered at the Sikera police station are BJP leaders Chaudhry Hukum Singh, Suresh Rana, Sangeet Som, Kunwar Bhartendu Singh, Sohanvir Singh, Kapildev Aggrawal and Pradeep Baliyan. “Forty people have been named in the FIR which has also been registered against over a thousand others [unknown] for promoting communal disharmony, preventing the police from carrying out their duty through acts of violence and for violating orders prohibiting unlawful assembly,” said Additional Director-General (Law and Order) Arun Kumar on Monday.

Names of BKU chief Naresh Tikait, his brother Rakesh Tikait and some Rashtriya Lok Dal leaders, who were part of the “Bahu Beti Samman and Hindu Bachao” rally, also find a mention as accused in the FIR.

Large-scale deployment of Army columns and para-military forces across the region has so far failed to restore normality. Afraid that the situation may aggravate, the administration has banned the entry of any opposition party leader.

RLD chief Ajit Singh, BJP leader Ravi Shankar Prasad and two BJP MPs, who on Monday morning attempted to enter Uttar Pradesh to visit the riot-hit pockets of Muzaffarnagar, were detained at Ghaziabad.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.