Other States

Two BJP MLAs join Assam Cabinet

Both Jogen Mohan and Sanjay Kishan were sworn in as Ministers of State with independent charge

The Assam unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday re-elected Ranjeet Kumar Dass hours after the two first-time party MLAs were inducted into the Sarbananda Sonowal Ministry.

A journalist-turned-politician, Mr. Dass represents the Sorbhog Assembly constituency in western Assam.

He was the only member to file nomination for the party president’s post.

“The party has given me the huge responsibility of guiding it as Assam nears another Assembly election in 2021,” Mr. Dass said.

He was appointed as the State BJP chief in January 2017, eight months after he was elected the Speaker of the 126-member House.

Earlier in the day, Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office to Jogen Mohan and Sanjay Kishan as Ministers of State with Independent Charge.

Mr. Mohan represents the Mahmara Assembly seat, while Mr. Kishan won the Tinsukia Assembly seat.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 21, 2020 2:15:31 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/assam-cabinet-expansion-two-new-ministers-sworn-in/article30591982.ece

Next Story