Assam, Meghalaya CMs start talks to resolve border disputes in six remaining sectors 

The two States signed an agreement on March 29, 2022, to end disputes in six other sectors. 

May 24, 2023 01:47 pm | Updated 02:41 pm IST - Guwahati

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma during a meeting, in Guwahati, on May 24, 2023.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma during a meeting, in Guwahati, on May 24, 2023. | Photo Credit: PTI

The Chief Ministers of Assam and Meghalaya on May 24 initiated the second phase of talks to resolve disputes in the six remaining sectors along the 884.9 km border boundary between the two States. 

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and his Meghalaya counterpart Conrad K. Sangma signed an agreement on March 29, 2022, in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah to formally end disputes in six other sectors along the border. 

Also Read: How were the States formed and how has the Indian map changed since 1947?

The six sectors where disputes remain are Langpih, Borduar, Nongwah-Mawtamur, Desh Doomreah, Block 1 & Block II, and Psiar-Khanduli. 

Dr. Sarma said the regional committees of both States would start visiting the six disputed sectors and submit their reports by July-end after which a Chief Minister-level review meeting will be held. 

“In the last part of June, the Chief Ministers of both the States will visit Karbi Anglong (Assam), where unrest is going on, as a confidence-building measure. We will work with the spirit of long-existing friendship between Meghalaya and Assam to resolve the area of differences,” he said after the meeting in Guwahati.   

“We will be able to resolve the remaining areas of difference through the process of discussion, mutual trust, and confidence,” he added. 

Mr. Sangma said the two governments have asked their respective regional committees to go on a fact-finding mission by replicating the process employed for the first phase of talks. 

Also Read : Explained | The Assam-Meghalaya border firing

“We will consult with the stakeholders and we hope to get the reports soon. Some areas may take time and some will be faster,” he said, asserting his government’s commitment to resolving the dispute amicably. 

Mr. Sangma’s team at the meeting included Deputy Chief Ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar, Minister Comingone Ymbone and senior government officials. Dr. Sarma’s team comprised Ministers Atul Bora, Chandra Mohan Patowar, and Pijush Hazarika besides senior government officials.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.