Other States

Ministers of Naveen Patnaik government resign en masse ahead of reshuffle

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. File

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. File | Photo Credit: Biswaranjan Rout

Ministers of the Naveen Patnaik Government tendered their resignation en masse and the papers were forwarded to Governor Ganeshi Lal for his acceptance on Saturday.

The new set of Ministers is scheduled to take oath at the Raj Bhawan on Sunday. This is the first time all Ministers were asked to put in their papers at one go in the State.

Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro also resigned from his post, which fuelled speculations that he might be taken in as a Minister in Sunday’s reshuffle.

While some Ministers are likely to be retained in the new Cabinet, controversial and non-performing Ministers are set to be dropped.

“Some MLAs have already received calls about their new assignments. They have been asked to remain present in Capital city of Bhubaneswar,” said senior BJD leaders.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is carrying out the Cabinet reshuffle for the first time in his fifth term. The BJD had registered landslide victory in State election 2019, winning 112 seats in the 147-member Assembly. The Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress had to be content with 23 and nine seats respectively.

After registering victory in Brajarajnagar by-election on Friday, the BJD’s seat strength in the Assembly has gone up to 113. The regional party had won all the by-polls held after the 2019 election, retaining Bijepur, Tirtol, Pipili and Brajarajnagar Assembly seats and snatching Balasore Sadar from the BJP.

“Never in the history of Odisha have all Ministers been asked to resign. What does it indicate? It is only the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik who matters in the party and nobody else. The victory in Brajarajnagar by-poll and Supreme Court’s order in favour of beautification programme appear to have enhanced his confidence,” said Rabi Das, veteran journalist and political commentator. The party is expected to induct young and new faces in the Cabinet and reward loyalty, Mr. Das said.

Odisha CM is expected to give representation to all districts in the new Cabinet. He is likely to send the list of new Ministers to Governor late in the evening.  Ministers, whose leadership came under scanner during recent elections to three-tier Panchayati Raj Institutions and performed poorly in their respective constituencies, will be dropped. Senior Cabinet Ministers who will be shown the door are likely to get key organisational posts to strengthen the party for 2024 elections.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 9, 2022 2:44:32 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/all-ministers-of-naveen-patnaik-tender-resignation-en-masse/article65493936.ece